FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Workplace drama

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
scotchyscotch View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Currently awaiting brand new strikes.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote scotchyscotch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Workplace drama
    Posted: 09 December 2013 at 5:58pm
So I figured I can have a moan on here and maybe get some advice as from previous threads some of you have dealt with similar situations.

Basically I work as an Insurance advisor for a pretty big insurer. I have been with the company for 2 years come January. For about a year and a half of this time I've been content just cruising through my time there. Doing what needs to be done and keeping the head down as these places have stung me in the past with workplace politics. 

So I moved to a different office in March/April and relatively quickly made a name for myself with my managers as being very competent and became a point of referral for the department in all things motor insurance. This was always balanced by the fact I wasn't too fussed about sucking up to managers or trying to out-do any of my colleagues.

After a reshuffle I now have one of the Operations managers as my team leader and she seems keen to get me doing other things and into a management mindset. I figured it's about time I put a bit of effort in and tried to get myself off the phones so I'm going with it. Now I thought this was all fine and dandy but I have recently found out another team member who I considered a mate has been sniping behind my back as he feels I am stealing his thunder. This has involved him (already in a seconded management role) going through my calls that have been submitted for a pay review and trying to rip them apart and finding faults to report to her. This could affect me getting the wage increase I've been going for for about 3 months,