Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Old Pro-Lite run on HPA?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Jayden View Drop Down
Member
Member

"thinks" =/= "thanks"

Joined: 14 January 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jayden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Old Pro-Lite run on HPA?
    Posted: 14 January 2013 at 1:51am
I am a spammer who posts the same nonsensical phrase in every thread I visit.

Edited by Mack - 14 January 2013 at 2:04pm
Back to Top
Mack View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Has no impulse! control

Joined: 13 January 2004
Location: 2nd Circle
Status: Offline
Points: 9818
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 November 2012 at 5:22pm
Originally posted by panhead4411 panhead4411 wrote:

Umm, i hate to sound ungrateful, but was i that unclear?


Yes.

To add to what Talon said . . . It is possible, by changing both valve and main springs, to come up with a combination that will fire better on HPA.
Back to Top
tallen702 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 1 - Swearing on Facebook

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: Under Your Bed
Status: Offline
Points: 10950
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tallen702 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 2:35pm
Here's the straight and narrow of it. HPA tanks output at two pressure either 800psi or 300 psi depending on whether it is a LPO or HPO tank. Of course, the exception to the rule is adjustable regulator tanks, but we won't get into that for now.

Pro-Lites come from a time when HPA wasn't even on the radar. Due to that fact, the valves are built to run off of higher pressures than what most guns run on today. A Tippmann '98 runs fine at 600-800psi input pressures, but Pro-Lites are built to take almost 850psi. Because of this, they run fantastic off of CO2, but run like crap on HPA/N2. They are physically starved for pressure by the output regulator on the HPA tank.

That's not to say there aren't HPA tanks you CAN use to run a pro-lite, but they're usually bulky and much, much more expensive.

The best thing to do for winter play is to invest in a couple of anti-siphon CO2 tanks. These are matched to your marker's ASA (so you'll want to mark which one goes to which gun) and essentially keep the valve from sucking up liquid CO2. Since gaseous CO2 has a constant pressure of 850psi, you'll never be short of oomph to get the ball up to speed, and you won't have to worry about sucking up liquid CO2 and having the marker shoot "hot".

Now, the .68 Carbine and Pro-Carbine work better on HPA as they have different valves, but still not as well as a 98 would.

Hope that helps!
<Removed overly wide sig. Tsk, you know better.>
Back to Top
panhead4411 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 73
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote panhead4411 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 1:53pm
Umm, i hate to sound ungrateful, but was i that unclear?

To clarify:

It shoots fine (up to reg speeds, or higher) in all conditions, except cold winters, while running Co2...which if i'm not mistaken is a Co2 failing, and not a gun issue. (or am i using the wrong kind of Co2?)

This summer we actually had issues bringing it DOWN to field speed as the velocity screw on Pro-lites still leaves a relatively substantial space on each side of it in the power tube. Had to switch to the smallest ball we had (not hard to find these days) and the biggest barrel we had, and even then, the screw was all the way in and it was shooting 270.  Tell me again how i might need a new drive spring?

Every single Pro-lite i own has also been to the factory recently for a refurb.
Back to Top
Mack View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Has no impulse! control

Joined: 13 January 2004
Location: 2nd Circle
Status: Offline
Points: 9818
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 10:15am
Using a 4500 tank won't increase the velocity.  The numbers 3000 and 4500 refer to tank capacity, not output pressure.  Related to this, I would start by checking the output pressure of the tank you are using.  Most Tippmann's need a tank with at least 800 psi output to function properly.

My bet would be, given the age of the marker, that it is time for a spring replacement.
Back to Top
panhead4411 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 73
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote panhead4411 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 8:47am
I own a few old Pro-lites and was wondering about what might be needed to run them on HPA.  I have a 48-3000 tank, but whenever i try to use it on the Pro-lite i can't get much more than 220 fps from it.  I was wondering if any of yall have one and if using a 4500 tank would yield near regulation speeds? (i have a couple 24 oz Co2, but those are a pain half of my year b/c it gets so cold the gas doesn't expand much and i only shoot about 200 and with a huge cloud of fog.

Much abliged.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.