Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Phenom Air drop off issue

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Akashi View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 02 October 2012
Location: Sacramento
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Akashi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Phenom Air drop off issue
    Posted: 02 October 2012 at 8:34pm
So i am shooting my mechanical Phenom and onceI lay into it trying to shoot fast I get an air drop off. Meaning the first 2-3 shoots are fine and the next few are shooting 5 feet out of the barrel in front if me. Its been cleaned greased etc, but I am still having the same issue.
Back to Top
tallen702 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 1 - Swearing on Facebook

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: Under Your Bed
Status: Offline
Points: 10954
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tallen702 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 October 2012 at 8:39pm
Okay, first question, are you running a remote? Second question, are you using CO2 or HPA?
<Removed overly wide sig. Tsk, you know better.>
Back to Top
Akashi View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 02 October 2012
Location: Sacramento
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Akashi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 October 2012 at 8:51pm
I do run remote and hpa, but when the issue occur i had the tank directly on the gun
Back to Top
tallen702 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 1 - Swearing on Facebook

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: Under Your Bed
Status: Offline
Points: 10954
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tallen702 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 October 2012 at 6:14am
Originally posted by Akashi Akashi wrote:



I do run remote and hpa, but when the issue occur i had the tank directly on the gun


Okay, do you know if your HPA tank is a high pressure output tank or a low pressure output tank?

Secondly, have you had the marker disassembled yet? If so, did you lube the o-rings for the flex-valve with Tippmann gun grease or dow-33? Or did you use regular marker oil?

Sorry for all the questions, but differential diagnosis online is a bit tough sometimes.

If it was with the remote line, I'd have guessed that there was a blockage issue with the on/off on the remote and would have had you turn the on/off all the way on and then back it off 1/4 to 1/2 turn. But since it's not, we have to look at the tank's output pressure, the flex valve, and potentially, the recharge rate. I'll pull the mech phenom I have out of storage and go over it with a fine tooth comb to see if I can't figure out what it could be if we don't get this figured out by this afternoon.
<Removed overly wide sig. Tsk, you know better.>
Back to Top
Akashi View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 02 October 2012
Location: Sacramento
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Akashi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 October 2012 at 10:05am
The HPA tank is a 88/4500, not sure what the output is. I used the grease that came with the marker when I tore it down after the issue. IT was late and dark so I will fire it again once I get off work today.
Back to Top
tallen702 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 1 - Swearing on Facebook

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: Under Your Bed
Status: Offline
Points: 10954
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tallen702 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 October 2012 at 11:28am
Drop-off like you're experiencing is usually related to a regulator or valve not recharging quickly. I'd try the tank on a different marker and see how it does. If you see drop-off, we know it's the tank, if not, then it's the marker. As I said, I'll open up the mech phenom I have at the house tonight and see if I can't find some areas where it might be affecting the recharge rate.
<Removed overly wide sig. Tsk, you know better.>
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.