Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Tippmann keeps locking up after a couple shots

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Evil Elvis View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Crusher of Dreams

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4250
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Evil Elvis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tippmann keeps locking up after a couple shots
    Posted: 05 March 2012 at 4:48pm
Nothing beats a Cyclone on an Alpha Black. It just a great piece of kit. Easy instalation too
Back to Top
TippmannEmployee1 View Drop Down
Tippmann Tech
Tippmann Tech

Tippmann Sports Staff / Marker Guru

Joined: 10 May 2010
Location: Fort Wayne
Status: Offline
Points: 158
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TippmannEmployee1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 March 2012 at 1:31pm
Originally posted by Ireland8386 Ireland8386 wrote:

Hey I just purchased an alpha black with an e grip. As soon I start shooting it "locks up" after three or four rounds and won't shoot again until I pull back a little on the charging handle then I repeats shoots three to four times then again freezes up.. Please help
 
I think it's a feed issue. Try shooting the marker without paintballs. If it cycles fine then it's not an air source problem. If you are shooting faster than your feeder will feed paint then you are probably pinching a ball. This will cause the bolt to stop, when you pull back on the cocking handle it releases the paintball from the front bolt & it drops into the breach. Try a Cyclone Feed System or a SSL-200 electronic loader for better results.
Back to Top
oldpbnoob View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Not old, Not noob. May be Dave's grandma

Joined: 04 February 2008
Location: Yankee Stadium
Status: Offline
Points: 5676
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oldpbnoob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2012 at 4:28pm

Also, are you using a remote or tank on? Make sure if you are using a remote that you are not turning the handle too far in. You can also try unscrewing the tank 1/4 of a turn to make sure that there isnt a flaw with the asa that is causing it to block the flow when fully tightened. I had an A5 once that had a bad asa if you screwed the tank on too far, it would do the same thing.

"When I grow up I want to marry a rich man and live in a condor next to the beach" -- My 7yr old daughter.
Back to Top
God View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Pull My Finger

Joined: 09 May 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 1348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote God Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2012 at 7:39am
If you have chance try his air tank and  see if the same results occur. If problem continues, try chronoing your marker, make sure it is at around 280 fps. next try an expansion chamber and remote line. Lastly call Tippmann's 1800 number and one of their service techs will be happy to walk you through steps to better diagnose the issue. Good luck!
Back to Top
Ireland8386 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 March 2012
Location: New jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ireland8386 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 March 2012 at 11:16pm
Okay thanks I'll just wait until it get warmer out.. But y buddy was shooting his and it was perfect
Back to Top
God View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Pull My Finger

Joined: 09 May 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 1348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote God Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 March 2012 at 10:19pm
Yeah it sounds like an air source problem.
Back to Top
The Guy View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Soup Can Guy

Joined: 18 March 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 6664
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 March 2012 at 9:35pm
Are you using CO2?

Its winter, and CO2 doesn't have time to expand coming out of the tank, so it gives you shoot-down.
Back to Top
Ireland8386 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 March 2012
Location: New jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ireland8386 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 March 2012 at 7:54pm
Hey I just purchased an alpha black with an e grip. As soon I start shooting it "locks up" after three or four rounds and won't shoot again until I pull back a little on the charging handle then I repeats shoots three to four times then again freezes up.. Please help
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.