Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Cyclone not working

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Buckeye_Man View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 January 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 101
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Buckeye_Man Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cyclone not working
    Posted: 20 February 2012 at 6:08pm
Here's the deal:

I had an older A-5 and had to get the body replaced. All of the internals are brand new. The new body I got is one of the (I assume) newer versions that has a large, internal o-ring on one of the sides of the gun's body. My cyclone feed is the original version of the cyclone feed, but has been largely replaced with a parts kit (for the older version - idk if there is a 'newer version' of the cyclone feed. After being assembled and properly lubed, the gun will fire for a while - say 25-30 shots - and then the cyclone feed will cease to work (but the gun will 'fire' blanks). That is, the cyclone feed is acting as if it's not getting any/enough air. Why might this be? Any ideas? I've tried various, full tanks of Co2, replaced internal o-rings, lubed the gun, checked the connections to the ASA and to the cyclone feed itself.

Thank you
Back to Top
Enos Shenk View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
~-o@

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: A comfy chair
Status: Offline
Points: 14109
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Enos Shenk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 February 2012 at 7:36pm
I'd say try sticking the stock components back in the cyclone and try to narrow the cause down.
Back to Top
Mack View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Has no impulse! control

Joined: 13 January 2004
Location: 2nd Circle
Status: Offline
Points: 9820
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 February 2012 at 8:49pm
Check the rubber seal on the fitting for the cyclone that comes out of the valve and check the ratchet for damage.  (Check the ratchet close--I've seen cracks that aren't readily apparent that can still cause cyclone problems.)
Back to Top
Lightningbolt View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
PHAT and PLAT

Joined: 10 July 2002
Location: Dean's List
Status: Online
Points: 4894
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lightningbolt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 February 2012 at 9:58pm
al?
Sent from a phone booth
Back to Top
CHiKUN_PiMP View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 03 March 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 121
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CHiKUN_PiMP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 February 2012 at 7:54pm
When you push the ratchet manually do the paddles still rotate? I've never had any air related problems in any of my cycloned markers but I did tighten a screw that was a bit to long into my X7's cyclone and the bugger'll prevent it from cycling. Good luck with it chief
Ignorance is bliss, why aint you smilin?
Back to Top
FireLiam View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 28 March 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FireLiam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2012 at 5:16pm
My Cyclone has been acting up to. Mine was similar as it was a screw that was too long and prevented from cycling. However, i am having new problems with it. Next to the pins there is a hex screw that tightens the feed neck to the cyclone housing. But this screw starts to loosen while i am playing. After about 250 balls it will loosen enough that the cyclone housing and hopper have "wiggle" room apart from the feed neck. Ive tried re-tightening and it still happens. Is there a way to solve this?
Back to Top
Enos Shenk View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
~-o@

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: A comfy chair
Status: Offline
Points: 14109
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Enos Shenk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2012 at 7:44pm
Originally posted by FireLiam FireLiam wrote:

My Cyclone has been acting up to. Mine was similar as it was a screw that was too long and prevented from cycling. However, i am having new problems with it. Next to the pins there is a hex screw that tightens the feed neck to the cyclone housing. But this screw starts to loosen while i am playing. After about 250 balls it will loosen enough that the cyclone housing and hopper have "wiggle" room apart from the feed neck. Ive tried re-tightening and it still happens. Is there a way to solve this?


 Visit your local hardware store and buy a tube of Loctite thread locker. That's what it's designed to fix.

 Get the "Low strength" variety. That type is designed to prevent fasteners from wiggling apart, but still weak enough to be easily removed when needed. Just put a couple drops on the tip of the bolt and thread it in there, dries tight in an hour or so.
Back to Top
TippmannEmployee1 View Drop Down
Tippmann Tech
Tippmann Tech

Tippmann Sports Staff / Marker Guru

Joined: 10 May 2010
Location: Fort Wayne
Status: Offline
Points: 158
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TippmannEmployee1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2012 at 8:25pm
Originally posted by Buckeye_Man Buckeye_Man wrote:

Here's the deal:

I had an older A-5 and had to get the body replaced. All of the internals are brand new. The new body I got is one of the (I assume) newer versions that has a large, internal o-ring on one of the sides of the gun's body. My cyclone feed is the original version of the cyclone feed, but has been largely replaced with a parts kit (for the older version - idk if there is a 'newer version' of the cyclone feed. After being assembled and properly lubed, the gun will fire for a while - say 25-30 shots - and then the cyclone feed will cease to work (but the gun will 'fire' blanks). That is, the cyclone feed is acting as if it's not getting any/enough air. Why might this be? Any ideas? I've tried various, full tanks of Co2, replaced internal o-rings, lubed the gun, checked the connections to the ASA and to the cyclone feed itself.

Thank you

  • Check both banjo fittings, make sure all the o-rings are there & make sure the fittings are not loose.
  • Also check your power tube, the new ones have a single hole about 3/16" in size that lets air pass through the receiver to the banjo fitting. If it's a small hole remove the valve & drill it out the power tube.
  • Make sure the screws holding the bottom plate on the Cyclone Feed are not too tight, this can cause it to bind up.
  • If you have any aftermarket parts in the A5 or Cyclone, take them & return it to stock.
  • Check your ratchet, if you hold the Cyclone paddle in place & push the manual reset button then release it, the button should stay in & not reset. If it resets then the ratchet is broken or worn and will need to be replaced.
  • I hope this helps. If you can't get it working then click on the contact us link at the top of this page, call the 800 number & ask for our service department.
Back to Top
Alienware^^ View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 19 April 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alienware^^ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 April 2012 at 12:30am
Hey Guys I Just Got An Older Tippmann A5 And i Dont Know If Thhe Cyclone Feed is Working Properly I Keep Shoting Then it Dosent Fire PaintBalls then i have To push the button on the feed and it works any anwsers and i hear some air leaking to but i know what the air could seals or ez **edited** like that may be  ware the cyclone feed has the little hose but is there a way to not have the cyclone feed on it just a plane hopper??
Paintball is da **edited** motha **edited**a
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.