Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

e-grip won't fire on first pull

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
rawbutter View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rawbutter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: e-grip won't fire on first pull
    Posted: 10 June 2011 at 2:34pm
Hi all, 

This is my first time posting here, but I'm a paintball veteran. In fact, that's the reason why I'm posting here. A friend of mine bought a temperamental e-grip, but he's been having trouble fixing it and asked me to look at it, and even I can't figure it out. 

Here's the deal. He has an A5 with an older e-grip. I think it's this one: http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/1457/ . It has five firing modes that you can flip through by pushing a button on the front of the grip. I'm not sure if you can actually change anything like dwell or power or anything like that. He doesn't have the manual anymore. 

Anyway, the e-grip works, but its very temperamental. After you turn it on and pick your mode, the very first pull almost NEVER fires. The second pull usually does, and once you get a few shots off, it works fine. However, if you let it sit for ten or fifteen seconds, then the first shot won't fire again. It's not really a huge deal, but he doesn't want to play with it because he's scared that if he tries to long-ball someone with one shot, the gun won't even fire. 

What's even more frustrating is the fact that paintballs seem to change the behavior of the trigger. When the gun is firing blanks, the e-grip works flawlessly. Add some paintballs, though, and it starts missing that first shot, just like I described. 

Weird, huh? Any idea why this is happening?