Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

A-5 Power Tube Problems

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Costless Sniper View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 18 October 2010
Location: Southwestern PA
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Costless Sniper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A-5 Power Tube Problems
    Posted: 06 January 2011 at 7:08pm
I have been having trouble with my stock a5 power tube and am wanting to buy a new one.
now the question, Does a new power tube come with all of the gust or will I have to tear out the old and put it in the new. Which poses another question, if I have to take out the gust of the power tube how do I get them out?
Back to Top
X7MAN View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 December 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote X7MAN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 January 2011 at 8:57am
Hey,

Whats wrong with your old power tube?  It might not be the power tube.
Make sure you buy a Tippmann stock power tube.  After market ones are not reliable.
Do not get metal ones either.
No, they do not come with the valve and you will have to take out the original valve and put it into the new power tube.  Use a pair of pliers to grab the pin in the back of the power tube that the rear bolt slams into and just pull it out.  Don't crack your old power tube.

                                                     Mike

DON'T FIX IT IF IT ISN'T BROKEN!

Back to Top
ONLYaUNCfan View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 01 February 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ONLYaUNCfan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 February 2011 at 7:57pm
I'm having power tube problems as well, I'm unsure of the location of the tube but I have the internals.
 
My question is do my internals work too? The one piece has a needle like piece that comes out and i don't know if it is supposed to or not.
 
Sorry I don't mean to thread jack
Back to Top
Ceesman762 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Time for a C-Section!

Joined: 15 November 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4807
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ceesman762 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 February 2011 at 10:19am
First...what exactly is the problem? Have you contacted Tippmann customer service?
Second, there are a few videos on Youtube for removing and replacing the vale within the power tube. Check those out.
Innocence proves nothing
FUAC!!!!!


Back to Top
oldpbnoob View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Not old, Not noob. May be Dave's grandma

Joined: 04 February 2008
Location: Yankee Stadium
Status: Offline
Points: 5676
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oldpbnoob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 February 2011 at 12:24pm
Originally posted by Ceesman762 Ceesman762 wrote:

First...what exactly is the problem?
This. You mention having problems but do not give a description of the problem. Explain the symptons and perhaps, someone here can diagnose the issue. Unless your powertube is cracked, there really isn't much else that can go wrong with it. The components inside the powertube make up the valve and there are a few issues that can go wrong with this. More info is definitely needed.
"When I grow up I want to marry a rich man and live in a condor next to the beach" -- My 7yr old daughter.
Back to Top
Costless Sniper View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 18 October 2010
Location: Southwestern PA
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Costless Sniper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 July 2011 at 11:20pm
the main problem with the power tube is that it needs a new spring

Back to Top
Ironhead99 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 August 2011
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ironhead99 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 August 2011 at 5:12pm
I am having a similar problem here, but i will explain my situation. i was installing the response trigger on my a5 and then started putting it back together. Ive done this many times so I didn't lose a part or o-rings or anything.
 
I hooked up my hpa tank and there was a hissing of an air leak coming from inside the of the power tube and tombstone adapter. i changed out the o-ring and washer and theres still a leak. I even tried to use my CO2 tank and the leak wasn't as bad but it wish still there.

I'm wondering what my options are with this. if i should try something else to get sealed or buy another power tube?

Respond as soon as you can 
Thanks
Back to Top
Costless Sniper View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 18 October 2010
Location: Southwestern PA
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Costless Sniper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 August 2011 at 9:08am
What I think the problem is, is the connection to the gun.
try that and get back to me

Back to Top
oldpbnoob View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Not old, Not noob. May be Dave's grandma

Joined: 04 February 2008
Location: Yankee Stadium
Status: Offline
Points: 5676
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oldpbnoob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 August 2011 at 9:36am
Originally posted by Ironhead99 Ironhead99 wrote:

I am having a similar problem here, but i will explain my situation. i was installing the response trigger on my a5 and then started putting it back together. Ive done this many times so I didn't lose a part or o-rings or anything.
 
I hooked up my hpa tank and there was a hissing of an air leak coming from inside the of the power tube and tombstone adapter. i changed out the o-ring and washer and theres still a leak. I even tried to use my CO2 tank and the leak wasn't as bad but it wish still there.

I'm wondering what my options are with this. if i should try something else to get sealed or buy another power tube?

Respond as soon as you can 
Thanks
Are you oiling the O-rings? Are you cocking the marker prior to airing up? Make sure the fittings are tight. Also, is the leak coming out of the barrel or from the tomstone? If tombstone, make sure you have the washer and o-ring in the right order. Also, the tombstones do at some point wear out. Make sure the tombstone spring in still good. Try pushing in on the tombstone to see if that stops it.  The Powertube doesnt really leak. If there is truly a leak coming from that area it is actually from the valve inside the power tube. Could potentially be one of the o-rings in the valve not sealing right.
 
Whatever you do, do not replace the powertube with an aftemarket one. They do nothing to improve performance and in many cases actually cause issues and/or decrease performance.


Edited by oldpbnoob - 06 August 2011 at 9:37am
"When I grow up I want to marry a rich man and live in a condor next to the beach" -- My 7yr old daughter.
Back to Top
Ironhead99 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 August 2011
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ironhead99 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 August 2011 at 7:20pm
Thanks guys i just replaced and oiled the o-ring and the leak is sealed and is working amazing now. everything is working better then before
thanks again
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.