Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Phenom Cyclone Problem

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
jw1999jw View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 23 January 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jw1999jw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Phenom Cyclone Problem
    Posted: 23 January 2010 at 9:46pm

I just purchased a new Tippmann Phenom.  I attached a full 20oz CO2 cartridge and went into the woods to try it out.  The first 50+- rounds I fired seemed to work fine, even in automatic mode.  After that, I noticed the cyclone feed system had stopped advancing.  The only way I could get paint into the chamber was to utilize the manual advance.  Through trial and error, I learned that right after I took the marker out of Safety mode, the cyclone feeder would advance between two and eight balls when the marker was being fired in semi-automatic mode.   Then it would stop advancing.  It won’t advance a single time in when I try to go to automatic.  Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can fix the problem?

Back to Top
God View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Pull My Finger

Joined: 09 May 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 1348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote God Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:05pm
I am guessing that the air from the tank is not expanding fast enough because you are firing the marker too fast and the loss of pressure is causing the cycle feed to not rotate.

My recommendation is get an HPA tank and shoot with compressed air or invest in an expansion chamber. You could also try using a remote line.
Back to Top
TinMan View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member


Joined: 10 October 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1003
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TinMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:21pm
The Phenom ratchets are a lot stronger than the X7 style, but to check it just
watch the paddles and advance the Cyclone manually 6 times. If the paddles
make 6 complete moves, the ratchet is fine. If not you'll need a new ratchet.
 
I have seen this.
The Cyclone feed hose on the Phenom was lengthend when Tippmann adopted the plug in hose end for the marker end of the hose.
Because of this, where the banjo fitting screws into the Cyclone piston housing must at least face out away from the marker at the 3 oclock position like the first picture.
If not the hose will kink like the second picture, and the Cyclone will misfeed. 
(sorry for the dark picture, it's night and my comp room is poorly lit)
 
*edit - sorry god, don't smite me. LOL


Edited by TinMan - 23 January 2010 at 10:22pm
Back to Top
jw1999jw View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 23 January 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jw1999jw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:26pm

Thanks for the reply.

I started out using a remote line, and then during my “trial and error” period, I took the remote line off and put a new CO2 tank on it and got the same results.  I haven’t purchased an HPA tank because the local sporting goods stores don’t have the ability to fill them.  I will try to borrow one so I can test it to see if that fixes the problem.  
Back to Top
jw1999jw View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 23 January 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jw1999jw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:30pm

I think you are on to something.  The cyclone air supply to my marker looks a lot like the crimped example in your second picture.  How do I correct it?  

Back to Top
jw1999jw View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 23 January 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jw1999jw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:42pm
Okay, I turned the screw slightly so the air line was more rounded.  I just tested it and unfortunately the cyclone is still not advancing when firing in automatic mode.  Any more suggestions?
Back to Top
jw1999jw View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 23 January 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jw1999jw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:45pm

By the way, the ratchet works fine when I advance it using the manual advance lever.

Back to Top
God View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Pull My Finger

Joined: 09 May 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 1348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote God Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:57pm
No problem. I am sure you have more advice on this marker than I have, Tinman. :P

I am out of ideas at the moment but check back. 

If you are unable to fix it you can always give Tippmann a call and see if they have any thoughts. I believe they have a toll free number.
Back to Top
TinMan View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member


Joined: 10 October 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1003
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TinMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2010 at 2:23pm
Originally posted by jw1999jw jw1999jw wrote:

Okay, I turned the screw slightly so the air line was more rounded.  I just tested it and unfortunately the cyclone is still not advancing when firing in automatic mode.  Any more suggestions?
 
Rotate the whoe piston housing that the line attaches to clockwise. Use your fingers to
rub the kink out of the hose and try it.
 
Otherwise contact Tippmann as God mentioned.
Back to Top
Evil Elvis View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Crusher of Dreams

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4250
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Evil Elvis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2010 at 8:12pm
The newer Phenoms have a Spring around the macroline. Mine had it call Tippmann and tell them the crimping problem. They might send you a spring like the ones on the Phenoms.
Back to Top
jw1999jw View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 23 January 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jw1999jw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2010 at 2:27pm

Using an HPA tank (rather than a Co2 tank) seems to have corrected the cyclone feeding problem.  Thank you all VERY much for your insight into possible solutions.

Back to Top
LineofSight View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 01 February 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LineofSight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 February 2010 at 4:35pm
I have the same problem with my new X7 Phenom. Sometimes the paint will not feed. I removed the hopper and dry fired the marker. Sure enough, the paddles were not turning. I straightened the hose, as mentioned in a previous post. No help. It was only slightly bent. I then disassembled the marker down to the point of removing the small hose going to the cyclone feed from the flex valve. The small o-ring on the flex valve end of the hose was mangled a bit; there was a little tab on the outer edge and it had a small tear in it. It looks like it got pinched somehow. This is the first time I have disassembled the marker so the o-ring came from the factory that way. I called Tippmann Tech Support and asked them to send me a new o-ring. They agreed, no problem. I then cleaned out the end of the hose with a pin and blew some compressed air through the hose. It looked like there was a little excess grease in the small hole on the end of the hose that attaches to the flex valve. I have not used this marker in the field yet, just test firing in clean conditions. I test fired the marker, with the old, mangled o-ring still installed, (the new one is in the mail) and it worked fine now. I have only fired about 30 balls but so far so good.
Back to Top
seals97 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 25 January 2011
Location: Great Mills, MD
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote seals97 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2011 at 4:34pm
I had the same issue, and tried everything posted on this forum.  I called Tippmann Tech Support and they said to drill out Part number 3 CFS Hose Fitting Assembly, with a size 56 drill bit. Since I have done that the cyclone feed work amazing.
Back to Top
Xi0n View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 03 June 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xi0n Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 June 2012 at 7:34pm
having the same problem with my barely out of the box Phenom. purchased a year ago and my 3rd game with it today. I'll follow the recommendations I have read here. drilling the fitting assembly sounds nice and also will change to an HPA tank tho the phenom it's supposed to work with either perfectly.
Back to Top
Ceesman762 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Time for a C-Section!

Joined: 15 November 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4807
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ceesman762 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 June 2012 at 8:23am
^^^reported  enjoy your ban^^^^
Innocence proves nothing
FUAC!!!!!


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.