Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Symantec Endpoint

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
MeanMan View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 02 July 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 4134
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MeanMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Symantec Endpoint
    Posted: 22 November 2009 at 6:33pm
Does anyone know how Symantec Endpoint is? My college offers it for free and my sisters virus protection from Mcafee just ran out. I cant find much info about it.
 
Any help?

hybrid-sniper~"To be honest, if I see a player still using an Impulse I'm going to question their motives."
Back to Top
Bolt3 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
What?

Joined: 01 February 2005
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bolt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 6:36pm
My virus protection is free. (Brain)
<Removed sig for violation of Clause 4 of the New Sig Rules>
Back to Top
Uncle Rudder View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Strike 1 6/25

Joined: 14 April 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1276
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Uncle Rudder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 6:38pm
Originally posted by Bolt3 Bolt3 wrote:

My virus protection is free. (Brain)
 
 
Avoid the porn sites
Back to Top
ParielIsBack View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
future target of fratricide

Joined: 13 October 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 3782
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ParielIsBack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 7:09pm
If you own a PC without anti-virus, you are an idiot.  No brain can protect you from everything on the internet.
BU Engineering 2012
Back to Top
Darur View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Stare directly into my avatar...

Joined: 03 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9174
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 7:18pm
It looks decent, symantec has been getting their game together a lot lately.

If in doubt though, Avast 4 is always free.


Real Men play Tuba

PH33R TEH 1337 Dwarf!
DONT CLICK ME!!1
Back to Top
Reb Cpl View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
2010 Worst Luck award winner

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 14004
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reb Cpl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 7:20pm
Several of our clients have Endpoint, and it does alright. A lot of times we find ourselves having to pull it off before setting up any network stuff, but you shouldn't have to worry about that....we have an entire school that uses it and they don't have much in the way of virus problems. 


Back to Top
MeanMan View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 02 July 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 4134
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MeanMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 7:36pm
Ill have to take it up to college later and set it up. It has to be loaded from their network. Its free, so why not.
 
Im assuming you cant do Avast 4 and Symantec together right? Not the "best of both" type of thing?

hybrid-sniper~"To be honest, if I see a player still using an Impulse I'm going to question their motives."
Back to Top
Reb Cpl View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
2010 Worst Luck award winner

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 14004
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reb Cpl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 8:26pm
I don't know much about Avast. Is it another AV program or an anti-spyware one? You shouldn't really ever run two AV programs alongside each other. Symantec especially goes berzerk. I've seen it completely kill a connection to the network because it was butting heads with another AV program. 


Back to Top
MeanMan View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 02 July 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 4134
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MeanMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 9:30pm
Ok, thanks.

My sister laptop is like, 6 years old. She couldn't get it to work on the BW network because it needs updates and new drivers, so tomorrow should be interesting for me.

hybrid-sniper~"To be honest, if I see a player still using an Impulse I'm going to question their motives."
Back to Top
tallen702 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 1 - Swearing on Facebook

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: Under Your Bed
Status: Offline
Points: 10951
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tallen702 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2009 at 11:41pm
I have symantec corporate edition on my pc. I'll be trying to find some way to take it with me when I upgrade. Free updates for life is the only way to go, even if I had to put on an eye patch and scream "yarrrr" a lot to get it.
<Removed overly wide sig. Tsk, you know better.>
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.264 seconds.