Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Anybody had mod their Alpha Black yet?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
RPFD41 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 19 May 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RPFD41 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 May 2008 at 3:04am

Hey sharpshootn,

You have done what i have been trying to do for three days now its awsome looking.  You have got to tell me how you were able to get the rail secured under the shroud.  I am having no luck. 

Please let me know how you did it....

Back to Top
projectmayhem View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 15 May 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote projectmayhem Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 May 2008 at 11:58pm
I really want to know if the tippmann flatline barrel fits the Alpha black.   Anyone know or tried?
You are not your khakis...
501st: Vader's Fist
Back to Top
sharpshootn View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 13 May 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sharpshootn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2008 at 11:04pm

i put a 98 custom cyclone on mine in which i had to slightly modify for it to fit properly, also i put a five inch picatinny rail on the bottom of my shroud with a foldable foregrip i like it alot.



Edited by sharpshootn - 13 May 2008 at 11:10pm
Back to Top
ciera1932 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 28 March 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ciera1932 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2008 at 4:36pm
I have modified mines...
Added rails to handle for grenade launcher, and modified it a cyclone feed..
Also drilled hole to center of top handle so i can use stard AR15 scope mounts, and using a red dot dight.
Also modified a 98C e-trigger system for it, shoots great.
People at field keep asking me where to get the e-trigger upgrade, told it won't come out til atleast June from Tippmann, have to make your own.

I have put in the 98 e-board into an Alpha Black... The Alpha's won't have an e-board available til atleast June... If you going to to do, need to to do a few things to it first...

1-need to make a longer trip pin, the original is too short, but that is easy, if you can find a piece of wire thick enough. Cut it so it ends just under the sear. Should be just a little play between the sear and trip pin, not very much,just enough so it isn't tight against it.(sorry I don't know the exact measurement for you, but should be fairly easy to do)
2-Using dremel tool or file, round out the top edge of sear, so it isn't a sharp edge.
3-On the back catch lip, where sear hits bolt, file it down with either a dremel or file, but not to much, just want a bit of doward slope (or really upward, down if bolt is held in your hand bottum up).
4-The sear is held in place by one pin and have 2 pins to limit it's movement. remove the bottom pin, so the sear will go higher in position, easier than shaping the sear to sit higher.

Might take a bit of fine tuning, but I did it and never had a problem once completed. Took me about 2 hours to work it out, with these instructions, should be alot easier for you to do. Won't have to modify the e-board or original trip pin, and it uses the bolt from a Tippmann 98 incase anything gets screwed up. One minor problem, make sure you use a good brand of 9 volt, the cheap ones don't have enough power, but that has always been the problem with all the tippmann e-boards.

Back to Top
MeanMan View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 02 July 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 4134
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MeanMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2008 at 11:28am

My dad already pre-ordered an electronic one.

They are nice feeling guns.  Ive held and played around with the normal tactical one at a shop.  I thought it was going to be smaller, odd looking from the pictures online, but it was bigger than I thought it was going to be.


hybrid-sniper~"To be honest, if I see a player still using an Impulse I'm going to question their motives."
Back to Top
maniackiller View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 27 March 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote maniackiller Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 March 2008 at 10:20pm
Taking apart the ABT is easy, there is like 10 screws and the case splits. As far as mods, it has the 98 threads internals. The trigger grip doesn't have much room is pretty close to the 98 grip, people have told me that the wires and rod would have to be extended for the 98 e-grip internals to fit. Other then that buy it!
Back to Top
JagdAlex View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 09 March 2008
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JagdAlex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 March 2008 at 4:35pm

Someone posted one Alpha with a cyclone and a red dot installed on a picatinny rail, fixed on the carrying handle. The guy had to drill a whole in the carrying handle. Something easy to do.

I am ordering mine today and should get it in about 5 days. I am planning on buying 2 picatinny mounting rails that will fit above and underneath the handguard to fit a vertical grip/bipod and prolly a laser and or a TAC light.

I am sure that it will be relatively easy to convert it into an M16 SOPMOD for half the price that it would cost you with an actual 98c.

Just need to wait in June for the Alpha E-grip and the Alpha Cyclone if you are not the crafty kind of guy who wants to dremel off a piece of their Alpha to make the 98c cyclone fit.



Edited by JagdAlex - 13 March 2008 at 4:37pm
Back to Top
Enos Shenk View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
~-o@

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: A comfy chair
Status: Offline
Points: 14109
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Enos Shenk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 March 2008 at 7:03am
Pretty much anything should fit on the Alpha besides the standard 98 e-grip or RT kit (The Alpha has no RT capability in the gripframe)

The internals and most of the mounting besides the triggger arrangement should be compatible on the Alpha.
Back to Top
Kingtiger View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Now with 100% more Fail

Joined: 17 May 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1745
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kingtiger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 March 2008 at 2:06am
People have been able to add a 98 cyclone feed, but that's it.
Steam: Kingtiger125
Back to Top
slugger66ny View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 March 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote slugger66ny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 March 2008 at 1:19am
I just want to know about the gun itself to be honest with you, rlly want to buy one, but want to make sure its ok...
AL.. AKA-(DBOY)
Back to Top
JagdAlex View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 09 March 2008
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 103
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JagdAlex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 March 2008 at 3:11pm

I am curious to see if anybody who purchased an Alpha Black had tried to customize it a bit with some 98C mod parts.

Like fitting a RIS handguard or some picatinny railing underneath and on top the actual handguard shroud of the Tacitcal package, or picatinny rail mount on top of the carrying handle. The only mod I have seen so far is people who had installed a cyclone feed on it that's it.

So if any of you guys did anything on their Alpha that would be great to know if it was relatively easy to do, because I want a purchase one but I am not sure if it's too much of a pain to actually mod it.

Thanks

 

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.