Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Tech Help (Wonderful Windows)

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Rp Fr View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
This title is just way too old

Joined: 20 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1091
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote  Rp Fr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tech Help (Wonderful Windows)
    Posted: 17 October 2006 at 7:10pm
Alright so, we have 3 users names on WinXP and between the people in my family (and the computer falling asleep), we switch between 2 of the user names throughout the day. Note: None of the user names require a password.

Recently, whenever the computer falls asleep, when you wake it up it takes you to the user name selection screen (all normal)

However, sometimes when you choose a user name to sign on to, it asks you for a password. None of us have passwords, and the only thing you can do is restart the computer and then everything is back to normal... for a while.

Any ideas what could be the problem? I've clean my computer and run virus/spyware checks, it's all clean.
Back to Top
Bolt3 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
What?

Joined: 01 February 2005
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bolt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 7:12pm
Hit enter.
<Removed sig for violation of Clause 4 of the New Sig Rules>
Back to Top
choopie911 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Commie Canuck

Joined: 01 June 2003
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 30745
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote choopie911 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 7:14pm
percussive maintenance.
Back to Top
High Voltage View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Fire in the disco

Joined: 12 March 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Status: Offline
Points: 14179
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote High Voltage Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 7:32pm
never use active user switching. simple.
Back to Top
God View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Pull My Finger

Joined: 09 May 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 1348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote God Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 7:35pm
Originally posted by Bolt3 Bolt3 wrote:

Hit enter.
Back to Top
Farcry0092 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
im not nominated for anything

Joined: 26 March 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 672
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Farcry0092 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 7:54pm
Originally posted by God God wrote:

Originally posted by Bolt3 Bolt3 wrote:

Hit enter.
Back to Top
Rp Fr View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
This title is just way too old

Joined: 20 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1091
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote  Rp Fr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 8:31pm
Originally posted by Farcry0092 Farcry0092 wrote:

Originally posted by God God wrote:

Originally posted by Bolt3 Bolt3 wrote:

Hit enter.


Pretty sure I've tried that already and it didn't work.

I'll try again when it happens to make sure.

Any other ideas?
Back to Top
STOcocker View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Forum Halo Champion

Joined: 27 October 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote STOcocker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 8:33pm
Reinstall Windows
Back to Top
Rp Fr View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
This title is just way too old

Joined: 20 May 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1091
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote  Rp Fr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 8:45pm
Yeah, just happened again, and hitting Enter doesn't do a thing.

And no, I'm not going to reinstall Windows.
Back to Top
phillll227 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1056
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote phillll227 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 8:45pm
you could try making a password



Back to Top
Yomillio View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Retard

Joined: 31 July 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3397
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Yomillio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2006 at 8:49pm
Originally posted by phillll227 phillll227 wrote:

you could try making a password
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.