Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Velocity problem

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
3442 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 January 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 119
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 3442 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Velocity problem
    Posted: 08 October 2006 at 12:19pm

I was playing defense in a castle (luckily) and after a long time waiting and getting bored i decided to shoot a round at the planks (not to far away) and the balls went flying in another direction, i even choped one for like the first time since i have my cyclone. So i used my battle swab to clean it, fired again and the same things happened. The balls went crazy as if my velocity was like 320! The thing is i hadnt touched any of my settings since the morning when i brought it to the velocity booth and set my custon 98 with rt and cyclone to a 287-290 ish velocity(i did have the ocasional ball hitting 304)

So anyone have clues on what happened? I mean, the balls were the same, my hpa tank was at about 2000 psi, and my barrel was clean, i hadn't changed anyhting. I had to drop my velo on the field to about 216 for it to be accurate  because anything else the ball went nuts. i later went to adjust the velocity and it was fine again...

Thanks for the help

Frank



Edited by 3442 - 08 October 2006 at 12:21pm
Frank
Back to Top
hybrid-sniper View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

I feel violated.

Joined: 09 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10102
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hybrid-sniper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 October 2006 at 1:46pm

What kind of paint? Good match to the barrel?

When it was "going crazy" was it shooting at legal speeds?

Back to Top
Styro Folme View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Strike 1 - Rules 1 and 2

Joined: 28 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 8087
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Styro Folme Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 October 2006 at 4:27pm

you probably had paint in your cyclone.  clean that out.

it's usually colder in the mornings.  when it heats up in the afternoon, the co2 in your tank will expand and make your velocity go up.

X
Back to Top
3442 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 January 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 119
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 3442 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 October 2006 at 9:01pm

@ Hybrid-sniper

-The paint was a bit smaller than the barrel because i have a 14 inch progressive. I doubt this could be it because it was the same as my morning barrel, and the same paint from hte same bag.

-Paint was Blaze

-As for legal speeds i cannot tell because when i saw the bals going crazy i assumed it was velo so i brought i screwed the screw in to lower my velo in order to avoid having to get of the field at the begining of hte game, i afterwars went back to the chrono and re-adjusted to the previous velocity i stated above.

During the day i hadn't touched any settings for velocity. The games previous i had excelent accuracy then at the castle my first few rounds went random, i choped a ball, cleaned the barrel, and the same hting happened until i dropper the velocity as much as i could.

@Styro Folme

-My cyclone was clean. I checked. No paint at all, even after chopping the balls, and even at the end of the day.

-the temperature was relitavly the same as the morning since we began playing near 11ish. It was cool temperature, nothing cold, their was a nice breaze

-And i use Compressed air, not co2, so that can;t be the problem

Frank

Frank
Back to Top
Jawa_Nz View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 28 June 2006
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Points: 210
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jawa_Nz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2006 at 5:13am
Maybe the valve is staying open too long? Might be a little gummed up or a damaged o-ring. Just a random stab in the dark really but its all I can think of at the mo.
People who are organised are just to lazy to look for things.
Back to Top
3442 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 January 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 119
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 3442 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2006 at 12:20pm

which vavle are you talking about? in the powertube?

as for hte oring being gummeb or damaged i doubt since i only played 4 times since i changed them and i clean and lube my gun completely after every play

Frank

Frank
Back to Top
ollieb View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 26 December 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 86
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ollieb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 October 2006 at 8:27am
The mistake I see is you adjusted the velocity without verifying with a chrono.  The field I play on has a hard and fast rule.  You get a tool of any type anywhere near your marker and don't chrono before you go back on the field you get a one-way ticket to the parking lot.  No questions asked.  If you need to loosen a screw (ie to remove a Flatline from an A-5) all you need to do is get with one of the field staff and let him know why you have Allen Wrenches out and they'll let you continue.
Back to Top
3442 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 January 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 119
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 3442 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 October 2006 at 6:43pm

my buddy was reafing, so that wasn't a problem... but that cannot be hte mistake as the marker went nuts before i touched anything... i never go on a field without it being chrono'd... all i did was lower the velocity down to what i knew was way bellow 300 in order to conitnue the game...( when i chrono'd after i was at 216)

 

Frank

Frank
Back to Top
tecumseh View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
I Wanna Title!! Waah!

Joined: 29 December 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2174
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tecumseh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2006 at 7:23pm
ive shot at 320 fps and they didnt shoot different directions. im guessing it your paint your using or your barrel
what?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.217 seconds.