Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedA-5 ball breaking

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
funckhore View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
I don’t think so

Joined: 19 November 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Direct Link To This Post Topic: A-5 ball breaking
    Posted: 19 November 2005 at 11:31am
got and A-5 it was sputtering so I replaced the sear (fixed that problem. Now I shoot about 10 shots (works great first ten then it breaks every ball after that in the barrel) stock a-5 with flatline and 300psi air tank. pulled gun apart cleaned and oiled good. called tippmann they said to check the cyclone feeder, seems to be working fine. balls are not breaking in the feeder the gun only has paint in the barrel not in the gun or feeder. tryed stock and flatline barrel and three diffrent types of paint but is still breaking in the barrel. PLEASE HELP.
Back to Top
Sureshot3091 View Drop Down
Member
Member

BANNED FOR PORNO - Dad wouldnt like it

Joined: 22 February 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 1181
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2005 at 12:46pm
Clean the barrel?  Usually it is just paint to barrel match that causes that.  So if cleaning the barrel doesn't work then try some more paint, I hear the flatline is VERY picky on paint soo...Yea...

My new baby :-P


Stiffy2008 said, "wat is a noob?"
Back to Top
funckhore View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
I don’t think so

Joined: 19 November 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2005 at 1:06pm
but it also does it with the stock barrel
Back to Top
636andy636 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested - Posting While Intoxicated

Joined: 30 November 2002
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 5890
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2005 at 1:16pm
dude your so going to get banned with that name
nouseforaname wrote:
oh good, a mech gun with eye covers and a rippoff Jackel frame ... ANS - "Stealing ideas since teh begining"


Back to Top
The Guy View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Soup Can Guy

Joined: 18 March 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 6664
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2005 at 2:13pm
I answered your randomly sent PM
Back to Top
Millslane View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 30 October 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 495
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2005 at 3:56pm
check your velosity, and paint size.

if your paint it too large, it can become stuck in the barrels, and when forced out, tear open if its too large
www.pbteamwow.com
Back to Top
Punchy91 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 October 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2005 at 10:50pm
i've been having ball breakage too and i know it wasn't the velocity and i've been using evil paintballs and i've never had a problem with those paintballs at all and i've been using evil for about 2 years now.  i've only had my a-5 for about a month now and i bought it because everyone swore up and down that a-5's never breaks or chops balls.
Every beginning has an end...

Tippmann A-5
JCS Red Powertube
R/T Trigger System
16" Opsgear Operator Barrel
7" Weaver Hand Rail
T6 Collapsable Stock
E-Z Sling 3 Point Sling
Tactical Light
Back to Top
Millslane View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 30 October 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 495
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2005 at 9:20am
punchy, it doesn't.

when the A-5 is beaking or chopping, theres something not right.

some guns and setups will just break on every now and that and its expected and dealed with.

the A-5 is not that way. theres a reason a ball broke or was chopped.
if its not something that you can fix, them there may be a defect in it somewhere. a burr of metal down your barrel, or in the chamber. who knows.

I would take it back and get a new one, or send it back to tippmann with a detialed note explaining what its doing.

its not normal for the A-5 to break of chop.
www.pbteamwow.com
Back to Top
Punchy91 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 October 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2005 at 11:04pm
i don't understand what's going on with breakage or chops.  it's happening at the end of the barrel (where it screws into the gun itself) and i noticed a lot of paint in the cyclone feed assembly itselt.  i don't understand why it's doing that.  i even took out sandpaper and tried to sand down the burs but it did it again.  i'm thinking of sending it back to tippmann now.
Every beginning has an end...

Tippmann A-5
JCS Red Powertube
R/T Trigger System
16" Opsgear Operator Barrel
7" Weaver Hand Rail
T6 Collapsable Stock
E-Z Sling 3 Point Sling
Tactical Light
Back to Top
evillepaintball View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Not sexy - only dangerous to self

Joined: 08 March 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4927
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 November 2005 at 9:22pm
guess what guys, its starting to get colder outside, that means more barrel breaks.  yes, it sucks, but thats part of the game.
Back to Top
ANARCHY_SCOUT View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
strike 1 1/24 rudeness to newer members

Joined: 07 August 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4439
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 November 2005 at 8:24pm
check your bolt see if it as any pertruding pieces of plastic and make sure you clean your internals too.
Gamertag: Kataklysm999
Back to Top
FireStrorm89 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 28 March 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 November 2005 at 12:43pm
yesterday I was playing with 4 other people not including me. Every single one of them had a Tippmann Marker. I have a 98 Custom Pro E, three of my friends were using 98 Customs and my other had an A-5. All of our guns were breaking paint, it was such a horrible idea to play. All of our guns were chopping paint every three or two shots and than when they break it just chops paint non-stop. If we squeegie it, it will just shoot three times and start breaking again. We did this like 5 times cycle. Out of about 150 shots only 10 or 12 of them were actual paintball shots.  TIPPMANN has some explaining to do...
Back to Top
evillepaintball View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Not sexy - only dangerous to self

Joined: 08 March 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4927
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2005 at 8:17pm
it has nothing to do with tippmann.  the fact is, that when its cold, paintballs become more brittle and weak, then they break in the barrel.  thats just the way it is.  try keeping your paint war untill just before you use it, that should help.  also look into polar ice paint, specially made for colder temperatures.
Back to Top
FireStrorm89 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 28 March 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2005 at 9:08pm
got ya thanks for the tip, also I am going to try to switch over to Nitrogen as well.
Back to Top
fullauto07 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 November 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 38
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2005 at 9:10pm

its probaly your flatline barrel,you have to have a sertain type of paintballs or it wont fire

my setup:
Tippmann A-5,with r/t trigger
14" Tippmann barrel
48 ci air america hpa tank
view loader 3+1 harnness
jt proteus mask
dye du rag
extream rage gloves
Back to Top
rangerpilot42 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 December 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 2:23pm

I bought a brand new A-5 with the flatline last week and went paintballing with it this weekend with a bunch of other people.  It was VERY cold.  EVERYONE was chopping balls *initially*, but I was so bad I couldn't play.  It was very hard to crono accurately too due to CO2 limitations, but I was getting it fairly consistent around 270 fps (error was about 20 fps +/- though).  Nobody was preheating their paint.  All of the guns were very cold (temperature was in the single digits).

Here's my are some more of the conditions:

  • We were at 7,000 feet above sea level
  • EVERYONE was using CO2
  • NOBODY was using good paint (the highest grade was WalMart Tactical and it worked the best - I hear it's hard shelled????)
  • I was using brand new RPS - Rampage balls and cheapo WalMart balls.

We played a night game (different story) and a day game where the temps were more reasonable (near 40's & 50's I'd imagine).

My A-5 flatline was working so poorly I couldn't play.  I was breaking balls in the barrel at the apex of the bend.  But I was also chopping and paintball fragments and paint were getting ingested into the cyclone feeder like crazy.  There was another kid there playing with a used A-5 with a J&J ceramic barrel and he NEVER chopped.  I tried his barrel and I chopped in the barrel with the same paint????

Obviously cold has something to do with it, but is the latest output of flatlines / A-5's from tippmann lemon?

My other friend was using a Spyder Pilot with an electric viewloader hopper and he could fire (w/ an e-grip) automatic and not break a single ball of crap WalMart paint.  He was hitting a 1x1 foot area at 30 yards with the stock barrel.  This part was all during the daytime.  I still could hit anything beyond about 15 yards.  The flatline wasn't working at all like advertised.

I'll be calling Tippmann shortly.  Anyone know if there are recalls?

The reason I'm asking is (sorry for being long winded), why would my beautiful new A-5 get absolutely destroyed by the "lesser" (not trying to start an arguement) Spyder?  Rediculous if you ask me.

I REALLY want to make my system work and love the A-5, but haven't gotten anywhere with it.  Please help.

"If you come to a fork in the road... take it" - Yogi Berra
Back to Top
Bruce A. Frank View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
KRL Reincarnated?

Joined: 27 March 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3063
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 December 2005 at 1:18am

Originally posted by funckhore funckhore wrote:

got and A-5 it was sputtering so I replaced the sear (fixed that problem. Now I shoot about 10 shots (works great first ten then it breaks every ball after that in the barrel) stock a-5 with flatline and 300psi air tank. pulled gun apart cleaned and oiled good. called tippmann they said to check the cyclone feeder, seems to be working fine. balls are not breaking in the feeder the gun only has paint in the barrel not in the gun or feeder. tryed stock and flatline barrel and three diffrent types of paint but is still breaking in the barrel. PLEASE HELP.

It would be great if you saw fit to change you screen name to something less offensive...or explain to me how this is a combination of your initials and street address...or something inane like that.

Back to Top
Rambino View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
I am even less fun in person

Joined: 15 August 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 16593
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 December 2005 at 1:40am
He was guested several days ago, Bruce...  Now if people would stop bumping this thread, he may fade into past memory.
Back to Top
rangerpilot42 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 December 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 December 2005 at 4:05pm

Sorry to post one more time on this thread, but I wanted to end it (hopefully) on a good note by vindicating the A-5 and flatline system.

First, thank you to all of the veterans of this forum for putting up with yet another A-5 Flatline - help!? thread.  It really is appreciated by us serious people who are new to all of this.

Here goes.  If you don't feel like reading my entire monologue just know that everything works well when the temps were higher and by using non-malformed paint with a hard shell (doesn't have to be top of the line).  I am still having a fps problem, but no chops or breaks while using flatline at sustained full auto.

>>>

I inspected the paint I was using (RPS Rampage).  It was *horrible*.  All of the balls were oblong and only about a third of them were without dimples, burrs, or some other problem.  I'll be calling the store that sold it to me to "ask some questions." :)

I went and bought some relatively cheap paint that was hard shelled and of smaller diameter.  I believe it's Draxxus Heat or some other derivation of Draxxus (is that the correct name for the manufacturer?).  Every single ball is good and free of dimples.  They're also very round compared to the Rampage I had before.  I dropped a round into the stock barrel and it lodged inside about a fifth of the way down the barrel (with no half-moons visible).  I was scared to try it on the flatline because everyone says you don't want it to seal up tight, but when I dropped a ball into the flatline it rolled in one end and shot out the other end like a marble.  Beautiful!

I also bought a remote, as the word is they act as an expansion chamber to give more even shots with CO2.

So at noon (probably hovering around 50 degrees F) myself and two others (one A-5 w/ a short who-knows barrel, but brand new gun; and that Spyder Pilot) went out and shot some rounds.

At full auto, with the new paint, flatline installed, and remote installed I didn't break one ball.  Neither did the other A-5 using crap paint.  The Spyder was using the crap paint too and was breaking all the time.

I was SSSSSOOOOOOO relieved.  The flatline and A-5 gun worked well.  No chops or breaks even at full auto sustained.  Not even coming out the end of the flatline (where they sometimes break at the apex of the barrel).

However.... :) I have a new problem.  I didn't have a crono, but I don't think the flatline was doing it's job.  The balls were doing the normal arcing that all normal barrels experience.  I wasn't seeing any amazing range and flat trajectory.  I kept twisting the velocity adjuster out until it was practially out of the gun and it still was doing the same thing.  I think the remote is causing my PSI to dwindle.  At any rate it's certainly causing a drop in fps that I can't help.  I have read some posts that indicate other people have had the same problem, but haven't read up on this one yet.

Also my lateral accuracy was poor.  I attribute this to the low fps as well and partially to the fact that I was using fairly cheap paint (read: not marbs, evil, or bigball).

Let me finish by saying: HOORAY!!!! <laugh>

The gun works great.  Don't use crap paint that has dimples / defects (doesn't mean you have to pay top dollar).  As a total newbie though I had no idea about the importance of this nor did I understand how to recognize good paint from bad paint, or thick shell from soft shell.  I also had no comprehension of how much temperatures affect CO2 based guns and how finicky the flatline is with paint / temp.

Thank you for patiently reading my post and explaining to me the nuances of the A-5 flatline system.  It is much appreciated.

Now... how do I fix my fps problems w/out getting rid of the remote?

"If you come to a fork in the road... take it" - Yogi Berra
Back to Top
Dennis_NL View Drop Down
Member
Member

Strike 1 - Language 12/8

Joined: 29 November 2005
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 December 2005 at 12:50pm
well you could try to install a low pressure kit, the expansion chamber in the kit is useless because of the remote, but the secondary regulator will help you to keep your airflow consistent.. It will also allow you to set your fps to 300 fps.. normal flatlines won't go over 250 fps because of the extra resistence the ball is facing (curved barrel)...

The low pressure kit is in my view always a good choise because of the cosistent output.. i have my A5 now shooting 295 +/- 1 !
before the lpk i was shooting +/- 15 !!!
helped my accuracy a lot..

good luck!

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.234 seconds.