Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

super rt?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
You Wont See Me View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Found in Big Al’s underwear drawer

Joined: 02 December 2003
Location: Neutral Zone
Status: Offline
Points: 13330
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote You Wont See Me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: super rt?
    Posted: 16 October 2005 at 9:45pm
Originally posted by ekim98 ekim98 wrote:

Originally posted by triggerhappy1 triggerhappy1 wrote:

A-5 has the same efficiancy as a 98. With any RT/Cyclone upgrades on either gun it remains the same. The blowback happens after the propelling stage. The extra blowback is a lot more than you think. Efficiancy has been tested and it has concluded same, or very close efficancy.

You may experiance higher velocity with co2 because of spikes, inconsistant pressure, ect.



whom did the efficany test you refer to. i've heard that an a5 with it's cyclone feed and an rt will have more shoot down and to over come this you have to up the velocity , hence you would use more air/co2!!

Even if that were true, due to the way tippmanns adjust velocity you still wouldn't be using any more gas. Tippmann simply adjust the flow of air instead of the amount of air itself when you adjust velocity, so your using the same amount of air wheather your shooting 180fps or 300fps

Edit: darn you trig


Edited by You Wont See Me
Back to Top
triggerhappy1 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 May 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3376
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote triggerhappy1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2005 at 9:14pm

Nooooope. The valve has pretty much a two-step function. Step one is the propelling of the ball where the gas goes from the valve, through the recessions in the valve body, and down the powertube/bolt. Immediantly after this split second, the valve spring starts to push the bolt back, changing the path of the air from the powertube/front bolt to the rear bolt out of the valve body. Within this area is a "notch" like part in the valve body which leads to the hole in the powertube to the RT and out of the valve to propell the rear bolt.

And even if you did have to turn up the velocity to cope with any loss, it changes no efficiancy. The velocity screw simply diverts flow through the powertube; the valve is still struck with the same force. A gun with the v-screw all the way in will get the same efficancy with the screw all the way out.

Info on A-5s consistancy- http://forum.specialopspaintball.com/index.php?act=ST&f= 40&t=342&s=934417add87eee4fa6a63460904b10cb

Same (actualy more) shots with RT than without it.

Back to Top
ekim98 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 11 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 109
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ekim98 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 October 2005 at 11:14pm
Originally posted by triggerhappy1 triggerhappy1 wrote:

A-5 has the same efficiancy as a 98. With any RT/Cyclone upgrades on either gun it remains the same. The blowback happens after the propelling stage. The extra blowback is a lot more than you think. Efficiancy has been tested and it has concluded same, or very close efficancy.

You may experiance higher velocity with co2 because of spikes, inconsistant pressure, ect.



whom did the efficany test you refer to. i've heard that an a5 with it's cyclone feed and an rt will have more shoot down and to over come this you have to up the velocity , hence you would use more air/co2!!
Back to Top
triggerhappy1 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 May 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3376
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote triggerhappy1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 October 2005 at 3:38pm

Ricochets are agitating hoppers meaning they can not consistantly and steadily feed over 16bps. It should be fine for short bursts just under 20, but not very reliable for much if anything else. tigman250 has an Apache and Super RT, he could give you a more direct answer/advice.

Back to Top
Skitz View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 June 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 183
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Skitz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2005 at 2:22pm
Do you think an apache would be able to keep up with the Super RT? I've heard they can feed close to 20bps.
Tippmann 98 custom RT
Apache
14" J&J ceramic
Black/green hybrid grip
Broadsword vest
Remote line
Proto Switch EL
Back to Top
triggerhappy1 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 May 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3376
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote triggerhappy1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2005 at 9:16am

A-5 has the same efficiancy as a 98. With any RT/Cyclone upgrades on either gun it remains the same. The blowback happens after the propelling stage. The extra blowback is a lot more than you think. Efficiancy has been tested and it has concluded same, or very close efficancy.

You may experiance higher velocity with co2 because of spikes, inconsistant pressure, ect.

Back to Top
ekim98 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 11 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 109
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ekim98 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 October 2005 at 8:31pm
Originally posted by A5 dude15 A5 dude15 wrote:

Originally posted by DarkSideEchoes DarkSideEchoes wrote:

Originally posted by Mehs Mehs wrote:

It doesn't use any extra air, and the normal response trigger doesn't either, it uses excess blowback gas, which is the result of blowback from your gun.

This is where i have to disagree.

I know people say it doesn't, but when i have an RT on my a5 and get two hundred shots off a 47/3000, it makes sense that it munches more air.  be warned or have a big tank.

have you ever thought that you dont so many shots because you have one of  the smallest comp air tanks on market???


the a5 is known to be a gas/air hog anyway, and running the cyclone feed and a rt you probably have to turn up the velocity just to have it the same (fps)if your not using the rt. plus your using hpa which on my 98c  doesn't shot as fast(fps) as when i use co2. not sure why !! i'm not sure if the super rt (lpk hose and fittings) will do any good on an a5
Back to Top
A5 dude15 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested Pottymouth

Joined: 21 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A5 dude15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 9:53pm
Originally posted by DarkSideEchoes DarkSideEchoes wrote:

Originally posted by Mehs Mehs wrote:

It doesn't use any extra air, and the normal response trigger doesn't either, it uses excess blowback gas, which is the result of blowback from your gun.

This is where i have to disagree.

I know people say it doesn't, but when i have an RT on my a5 and get two hundred shots off a 47/3000, it makes sense that it munches more air.  be warned or have a big tank.

have you ever thought that you dont so many shots because you have one of  the smallest comp air tanks on market???
Back to Top
A5 dude15 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested Pottymouth

Joined: 21 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A5 dude15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 9:51pm
Originally posted by Mehs Mehs wrote:

It doesn't use any extra air, and the normal response trigger doesn't either, it uses excess blowback gas, which is the result of blowback from your gun.
Back to Top
triggerhappy1 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 May 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3376
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote triggerhappy1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 8:13pm

A lot of chronos measure BPS as well as FPS. I know those red ones do. If you shoot faster than 6bps it will automaticaly measure BPS.

Iv never tried it with my stock sear spring in. I never get mis-fires with my RT although the bolt does sometimes stick back because of the stronger spring. I get double shots from the Halo B pushing balls past the detents occasionaly too. Nothing to worry about though.

Back to Top
baconking View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 06 September 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baconking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 7:27pm

wait, i can see how many bps i'm shooting with a chrono?

and are there a lot of misfires? how often do they happen?



Edited by baconking
Back to Top
triggerhappy1 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 May 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3376
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote triggerhappy1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 7:05pm

If your using an EVO, theres no point in really having the Super RT. That hopper cant feed past 17bps which you can acheive without the mods. Doing these mods may only make it easier to sustain that speed. Putting in the stock sear spring allows less time for the bolt to fully reset the sear resulting in a slightly faster ROF, but perhaps some mis-fires. With the Super RT mods it will be much easier to sustain maxing-out your hopper.

Heres my RT (no mods other than polished internals), starting at 17bps and as the burst lengethens gets up to 19bps. I have chrononed it at 20 on the feild.

http://www.putfile.com/media.php?n=mountains-summer-181

Back to Top
baconking View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 06 September 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baconking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 6:37pm

cant i just get like an evolution and keep the rt tuned low?

 and i have to put the stock spring back in?  i would think that i'd need a heavier sear spring to catch the bolt better because its going so fast. that seems like it would mess something up.



Edited by baconking
Back to Top
triggerhappy1 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 May 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3376
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote triggerhappy1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 6:06pm

Uses no extra air. It just seems like it because your shooting more shots in a shorter period of time.

Super RT requires polishing your internals, buying LP RT line, and putting the stock sear spring in.

Call Tippmann and ask for "Low Pressure Kit Response trigger Line and Fittings."

Expect 18-24cps, Halo B is pretty much mandatory.

Although I have no Super RT mods, I have managed to get my RT up to 20bps.

Back to Top
baconking View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 06 September 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baconking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 5:23pm
and theres no disadvantages to it?
Back to Top
rossy11223 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member


Joined: 02 June 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3435
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossy11223 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 5:17pm
Tell them you bought the LPK and the r/t and that you need the larger fittings.
Back to Top
baconking View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 06 September 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baconking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 4:04pm
 i have a 98 custom. i just got an AK so i'll probably wait a while to get a faster hopper. but what do i tell tippmann i need?
Back to Top
ekim98 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 11 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 109
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ekim98 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 1:02am
you don't mention what marker you've got. if it's an a5 then you may not see a big improvement. if you have a 98custom and only get 12 bps you probably need to retune it. a super rt on a 98c should need a halo b or an egg to keep up if it's tuned right. if your worried about how much extra air it might use then you probably shouldn't even go to the super rt,because you will be shooting more paint too.
Back to Top
DarkSideEchoes View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 June 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 586
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DarkSideEchoes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 October 2005 at 11:43pm

Originally posted by Mehs Mehs wrote:

It doesn't use any extra air, and the normal response trigger doesn't either, it uses excess blowback gas, which is the result of blowback from your gun.

This is where i have to disagree.

I know people say it doesn't, but when i have an RT on my a5 and get two hundred shots off a 47/3000, it makes sense that it munches more air.  be warned or have a big tank.

Back to Top
TippmanHotshot View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 October 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 440
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TippmanHotshot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 October 2005 at 10:08pm
Well, for me, I would just use a VL Revolution, which is rated about 12 bps. Besides, the RT is rated at 15 BPS, and unless going full auto, is hard to reach anyways.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.219 seconds.