Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

PC Help

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
nEmRoĞ View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 207
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nEmRoĞ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: PC Help
    Posted: 25 June 2005 at 10:26am
I noticed my PC gettin slow.
I did virus scans,spyware scans,defragmented and clean the disk.
also deleted programs i dont use. Any idea. Think something in my pc dieing out?



Back to Top
Hades View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 May 2003
Location: Virgin Islands
Status: Offline
Points: 12983
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hades Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 10:28am
Could be or your running out of room...

Back to Top
Sammy View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member


Joined: 20 July 2002
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 4076
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sammy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 10:34am
What kind of antivirus do you use? Norton really slowed my computer. It was causing upwards of 3 minute shutdowns and start ups. Also, do maybe you should do a full system reboot with the original windows xp disk.
Back to Top
madpaintballer View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 535
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote madpaintballer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 11:20am
start>run>msconfig

Click on the startup tab.

This will show a list of programs that run on startup. If you are running windows XP no necessary programs will be listed on there so uncheck all programs you dont want or need to start up when you turn on your computer.

This might be the problem. If not I'd try running ad-aware
"Killing is my business...and business is good."
Back to Top
Pariel View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Guested - language.

Joined: 06 October 2003
Location: New Caledonia
Status: Offline
Points: 5140
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pariel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 11:35am
Windows sucks.

Plain and simple.

That said, it fills my needs pretty well.
Back to Top
Puma45 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 21 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 150
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Puma45 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 11:36am
Originally posted by Hades Hades wrote:

Could be or your running out of room...


This is probably the case and easy to fix. You might need to upgrade your
RAM. A standard computer is great for getting on the internet and doing
a few tasks. Once you start adding programs though, you start running
out of space and the computer slows down. I'll break it down. Your
processor is what you are doing (building chairs for example) and your
RAM is your space (like a desktop). At first, you're just building chairs on
a desktop and everything works fine. Then you decide to build couches
(more programs) and the desktop isn't big enough, (it slows down). You
get a bigger workbench to build bigger things and everything is fine
again. Check advertisements to see RAM upgrades and how cheap they
are to install. You can do it yourself if you have the experience. Hope this
helps.

Edited by Puma45
Back to Top
xteam View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2005
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 2144
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xteam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 12:23pm

reformat

Back to Top
Killgore View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Mr. Patience

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 1153
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Killgore Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 12:38pm
Exactly as some said. This is what you do:\

1) Run Ad-Aware (free download)
2) Run Spybot (free download
3) Run MSConfig remove anything that you do not need running.
4) Right click on the desktop, Properties, Appearance, Put it on "windows Classic Syle". Then click Effects and uncheck everything in there. This will speed up your comp a lot.

I have an AMD 3200+ with 1 gig of RAM and i still do all of the above.

I have a P3 800mhz machine connected to my @ home network that i use as a mp3, video, file server running Win XP and it is fast beacause i do all of the above.

Edited by Killgore
Back to Top
MagicMikebb View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
Guested - get over yourself, not funny.

Joined: 12 June 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 492
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MagicMikebb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 12:39pm
Were you looking at porn when you noticed this speed difference?
Back to Top
Killgore View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Mr. Patience

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 1153
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Killgore Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 12:50pm
Looking at porn won't slow down your machine. Unless it had installed spyware, which most of the time it does. That is why by running Spybot and Ad-Aware will remove the spyware most of the time.

Oh yes also if you are running an old version of Norton Antivirus get RID of it. It is crap! It will slow your machine down big time. Thanks whoever said that above. I recommend Avast! antivirus. It's free, small and works great. I run this on all my machines now. I used to be a die hard Norton guy. Until i noticed the speed difference.

Also do all your Windows updates. Your windows machine should always have the current updates.

Also whoever said XP is crap has no idea what they are talking about. If used properly Windows XP is awesome.
Back to Top
xteam View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2005
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 2144
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xteam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2005 at 1:03pm
Originally posted by Killgore Killgore wrote:

If used properly Windows XP is awesome.
Back to Top
nEmRoĞ View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 207
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nEmRoĞ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 June 2005 at 2:18pm
thanxs guys sry just got back into town and able to check the forum. No i dont look at porn and ill try wat u guys suggested and get back to u guys. i dont rly think is my memory cause i got 86% free space
thanxs


Edited by nEmRoĞ
Back to Top
Bubba Gump View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 October 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bubba Gump Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 June 2005 at 2:43pm

click my sig

Back to Top
nEmRoĞ View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 207
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nEmRoĞ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 June 2005 at 4:06pm
ok its running bttr. i unistalled norton and usin avast. did the misconfig thing.and usin the windows classic theme
 One more question how do i check my RAM?
Back to Top
madpaintballer View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 535
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote madpaintballer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 June 2005 at 4:40pm
Control panel>System

Under the general tab it will list your ram close to the bottom.
"Killing is my business...and business is good."
Back to Top
nEmRoĞ View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 207
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nEmRoĞ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 June 2005 at 5:18pm
256mb of ram. think i should get more?
Back to Top
Puma45 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 21 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 150
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Puma45 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 June 2005 at 5:55pm
256mb is barely there. I actually have (1) 512mb and a (1) 1Gb. I also
have two hard drives installed. One is for the operating systems and one
is for music and movies, with miscellaneous wherever. Personally I would
get more RAM. Your processor could be fast, but if you don't have the
RAM, it will slow it down. If you have an apple, you could install the RAM
yourself. If you have a PC, have somebody do it.
Back to Top
nEmRoĞ View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 207
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nEmRoĞ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 June 2005 at 9:23pm
ok. will start lookin into gettin more ram. thanx alot guys
Back to Top
Predatorr View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 1 - Rules 1 and 2

Joined: 28 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3795
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Predatorr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 June 2005 at 9:39pm
I have a PC, just buy some ram from best buy and install it yourself, my dad did it.  I dunno why you need somebody else to do it though
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.