Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedCedric and Bugg

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 14>
Author
_TT_ View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Be Afraid. Be Very Afraid.

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3239
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 1:46pm
Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:


Originally posted by _TT_ _TT_ wrote:

Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:

so does the IP Ban work on routers?

EDIT: and i love cheese



Routers dont mask IP's, they use one IP and the router assigns a private IP to each computer on your system.
Ban the main IP or the string(more effective just disallowing a neighborhood or town) and then there is no worries.


ok, I was under the impression that if you restarted your router/modem, you receive a new IP


Not if I ban the string. Remember, I work for a very large ISP, I got a decent bit of knowlege on the subject.
Back to Top
usafpilot07 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
FreeEnterprise's #1 Fan & Potty Mouth

Joined: 31 August 2004
Location: Tokelau
Status: Offline
Points: 4450
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 1:47pm
O, i wasn't contradicting you, I was merely trying to clarify my understanding for personal knowledge
Buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo
Back to Top
_TT_ View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Be Afraid. Be Very Afraid.

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3239
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 1:53pm
Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:

O, i wasn't contradicting you, I was merely trying to clarify my understanding for personal knowledge


If you have a dynamic IP and reset your modem AND router when your modem goes through the DORA process the server will check for an existing lease and either give you a new IP which will come from the same pool or will give you the last IP you had.
So if you have a 117.69.112.10 IP, and reset, you will get either the same # or 117.69.112.11 or something to that effect.
So what I'll put in the filter is 117.69.112.*
The * means whatever number fills this spot, ban it anyway.+
Back to Top
WGP guy View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Quoted F and S bomb.

Joined: 14 August 2004
Location: Lao Peopleís Dem. Rep.
Status: Online
Points: 1327
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:06pm
Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:

Originally posted by _TT_ _TT_ wrote:

Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:

so does the IP Ban work on routers?

EDIT: and i love cheese



Routers dont mask IP's, they use one IP and the router assigns a private IP to each computer on your system.
Ban the main IP or the string(more effective just disallowing a neighborhood or town) and then there is no worries.


ok, I was under the impression that if you restarted your router/modem, you receive a new IP


Actually with RoadRunner your main IP (public IP) gets reset every 6 months or so.  My friends is reset like every 2 weeks to a month because he runs a server from his comp, using RRs bandwidth.  Thats one of the reason IPs are reset.

And _TT_ with the RR thing, my friends has been totally different before.  Like I remember his old IP (for his server) was 69.133.144.155.  Since then they have changed it like 6 times, now i know it starts with a 66, but I don't remember the rest.  So with him you would only be banning him for like a month or less.  That could be the case with other forumers as well.


Edited by WGP guy
Back to Top
Hysteria View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 2 - Language, 9/25

Joined: 02 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4364
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:07pm
Cedric and Bugg just got examplified!  Haha.
Back to Top
DBibeau855 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
IIIIIMMMMM BAAACCCKKK

Joined: 26 November 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11662
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:09pm
Cant you reset it manualy? I had to do that once i think.
Back to Top
cdacda13 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Yes, spelled secual.

Joined: 12 September 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 7951
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:33pm
Thank you _TT_
Back to Top
_TT_ View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Be Afraid. Be Very Afraid.

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3239
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:35pm
Originally posted by WGP guy WGP guy wrote:



Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:


Originally posted by _TT_ _TT_ wrote:

Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:

so does the IP Ban work on routers?

EDIT: and i love cheese



Routers dont mask IP's, they use one IP and the router assigns a private IP to each computer on your system.
Ban the main IP or the string(more effective just disallowing a neighborhood or town) and then there is no worries.


ok, I was under the impression that if you restarted your router/modem, you receive a new IP


Actually with RoadRunner your main IP (public IP) gets reset every 6
months or so. My friends is reset like every 2 weeks to a month
because he runs a server from his comp, using RRs bandwidth.
Thats one of the reason IPs are reset.

And _TT_ with the RR thing, my friends has been totally different
before. Like I remember his old IP (for his server) was
69.133.144.155. Since then they have changed it like 6 times, now
i know it starts with a 66, but I don't remember the rest. So
with him you would only be banning him for like a month or less.
That could be the case with other forumers as well.


Notice at the beginning I said dynamic.
If it resets every six months, its not dynamic assigned.
And I know that the #'s can occasionally be different, it depends on how large the pool is and a few other factors, However, there are ways around this.
Back to Top
WGP guy View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Quoted F and S bomb.

Joined: 14 August 2004
Location: Lao Peopleís Dem. Rep.
Status: Online
Points: 1327
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:36pm
Originally posted by _TT_ _TT_ wrote:

Originally posted by WGP guy WGP guy wrote:



Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:


Originally posted by _TT_ _TT_ wrote:

Originally posted by usafpilot07 usafpilot07 wrote:

so does the IP Ban work on routers?

EDIT: and i love cheese



Routers dont mask IP's, they use one IP and the router assigns a private IP to each computer on your system.
Ban the main IP or the string(more effective just disallowing a neighborhood or town) and then there is no worries.


ok, I was under the impression that if you restarted your router/modem, you receive a new IP


Actually with RoadRunner your main IP (public IP) gets reset every 6
months or so. My friends is reset like every 2 weeks to a month
because he runs a server from his comp, using RRs bandwidth.
Thats one of the reason IPs are reset.

And _TT_ with the RR thing, my friends has been totally different
before. Like I remember his old IP (for his server) was
69.133.144.155. Since then they have changed it like 6 times, now
i know it starts with a 66, but I don't remember the rest. So
with him you would only be banning him for like a month or less.
That could be the case with other forumers as well.


Notice at the beginning I said dynamic.
If it resets every six months, its not dynamic assigned.
And I know that the #'s can occasionally be different, it depends on how large the pool is and a few other factors, However, there are ways around this.


Oh.  But doesn't dynamic mean it changes and static means it remains the same?
Back to Top
_TT_ View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Be Afraid. Be Very Afraid.

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3239
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:45pm
Dynamic can change any time you complete the dora process, static means that it will remain the same unless a change is forced, like it being reset every six months.
Back to Top
STOcocker View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Forum Halo Champion

Joined: 27 October 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1599
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:54pm
I hope you don't ban the string. I live really close to Cedric. I could be banned too.

Edited by STOcocker
Back to Top
hwayhzrd View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Out Getting a Beer

Joined: 13 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10242
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:54pm

Thank you for laying down the law. This childishness needs to stop. THIS KIND OF STUFF HURTS THE FORUM.

Word of warning ... just because I LIKE a person, does not mean that I will not BAN a person!

The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few ... or the one.

Back to Top
_TT_ View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Be Afraid. Be Very Afraid.

Joined: 10 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3239
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:57pm
Ty spock =p
Back to Top
hwayhzrd View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Out Getting a Beer

Joined: 13 June 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10242
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:58pm

Thank you, Jim .... though I find your response highly illogical ...

Back to Top
Panda Man View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Iíll feed you to my SNAKE!! METALFACE!!

Joined: 25 July 2004
Location: Neutral Zone
Status: Offline
Points: 10605
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 2:59pm
Back to Top
Pariel View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Guested - language.

Joined: 06 October 2003
Location: New Caledonia
Status: Offline
Points: 5140
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 3:01pm
Originally posted by hwayhzrd hwayhzrd wrote:

Thank you, Jim .... though I find your response highly illogical ...





Ahhh...that was a good one.
Back to Top
DBibeau855 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
IIIIIMMMMM BAAACCCKKK

Joined: 26 November 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 11662
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 3:11pm
And they arent listening..
Back to Top
xteam View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2005
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 2144
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 3:15pm
oh boy
Back to Top
Pariel View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Guested - language.

Joined: 06 October 2003
Location: New Caledonia
Status: Offline
Points: 5140
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 3:17pm
I would take the mods pretty seriously guys-this forum itself is on pretty skinny stilts right now...in other words, it's about to die.

I wouldn't tempt Tippmann more.
Back to Top
Apu View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Funny/Ironic Title

Joined: 25 January 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 6470
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 3:17pm
What scares me is Seb works for my ISP. 
I need a new Sig...
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 14>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.