Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

did i destroy my flatline?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
SgtPoisonMiller View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 16 April 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 79
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SgtPoisonMiller Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 4:01am

Uhh, hell yes Tippmann re-blasts it, after 200,000 or so shots, when the original stuff wears off.

I thought this was common knowledge.

------------------
Sgt. Poison Miller
------------------
Current Owner of:
A5 w/Remote, 68/45 Crossfire, Flatline, Ricochet R5, Tapco T6 Stock
Vforce Shield Standard (Green)
------------------
Back to Top
choopie911 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Commie Canuck

Joined: 01 June 2003
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 30745
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote choopie911 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2005 at 12:09pm
If thats the case, I stand corrected. I don't own a flatline, so I never inquired about re-finishing.
Back to Top
Bruce A. Frank View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
KRL Reincarnated?

Joined: 27 March 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3063
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bruce A. Frank Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2005 at 1:05am
Originally posted by Stormcharger Stormcharger wrote:

Originally posted by Bruce A. Frank Bruce A. Frank wrote:

Originally posted by Stormcharger Stormcharger wrote:

Miss-statement?  How do you figure?  Or are you just dyslexic.

Oh, how about "The inside of the Flatline is glass blasted along with an adhesive to make a fine layer stick"  and  "the inside of the barrel is smooth" and "check for rust"

Maybe I should have phrased it "so many inaccurate statements."

Not one of those statements were mine.  Which was my point.  I was simply annoyed to be included in your nit picking post. 

Hmmm, did I single you out? Did I say your (insert screen name) statements were the ones that caught my eye. If you said nothing incorrect, why would you conclude that my comment included your post. I had no need to quote anyone until you got irritated. I had made my clarifying post. Rather than the rest of us having to walk on egg shells and be "really" careful with the wording of our posts, you might need to get some more paintball game time in to reduce that edginess.

A writing technique to draw attention when something profound is about to be stated is to note that there are problems that need to be corrected

Now that last statement was intended to be tongue-in-cheek. I will have start to use more smiley faces so's not to be taken TOO seriously.

Back to Top
Bruce A. Frank View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
KRL Reincarnated?

Joined: 27 March 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3063
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bruce A. Frank Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2005 at 1:09am

Originally posted by ItIsWhatItIs ItIsWhatItIs wrote:

Can you have Tippmann re-sandblast your Flatline???

Yes, they will do it for free. It just costs you the shipping.

Back to Top
elton2522 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 June 2005
Location: South Africa
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote elton2522 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2005 at 9:48am
Hey Guys

I've got oil in my flatline!!!!

Whats the best soap to use. Can i use a degreaser or something like that? I dont want to damage it.
Work sucks...
   I've gone to play Paintball
Back to Top
Bruce A. Frank View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
KRL Reincarnated?

Joined: 27 March 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3063
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bruce A. Frank Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2005 at 11:14am

Originally posted by elton2522 elton2522 wrote:

Hey Guys

I've got oil in my flatline!!!!

Whats the best soap to use. Can i use a degreaser or something like that? I dont want to damage it.

LOL! You cannot hurt the barrel unless you use a cleaner that is caustic and you leave it in the barrel for a week. Dish detergent works very well...with warm to hot water. Rinse with hot water after using swab. Squeegee it dry. Then push a wad of paper towel through the bore to get the last bit of moisture. And you are good to go.

Back to Top
ItIsWhatItIs View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 August 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 483
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ItIsWhatItIs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2005 at 12:58pm
Originally posted by Bruce A. Frank Bruce A. Frank wrote:

Originally posted by ItIsWhatItIs ItIsWhatItIs wrote:

Can you have Tippmann re-sandblast your Flatline???



Yes, they will do it for free. It just costs you the shipping.



Thanx
It Is What It Is

A-5
R/T
Flatline
Polished Internals
Back to Top
elton2522 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 June 2005
Location: South Africa
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote elton2522 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 June 2005 at 3:37am
Originally posted by Bruce A. Frank Bruce A. Frank wrote:

Originally posted by elton2522 elton2522 wrote:

Hey Guys

I've got oil in my flatline!!!!

Whats the best soap to use. Can i use a degreaser or something like that? I dont want to damage it.

LOL! You cannot hurt the barrel unless you use a cleaner that is caustic and you leave it in the barrel for a week. Dish detergent works very well...with warm to hot water. Rinse with hot water after using swab. Squeegee it dry. Then push a wad of paper towel through the bore to get the last bit of moisture. And you are good to go.



Thanks man

I'll be cleaning it tonight!
Work sucks...
   I've gone to play Paintball
Back to Top
98tippy98 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 26 April 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 98tippy98 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 June 2005 at 11:51pm
If you do "shoot out" a flatline...will it still work as like a barrel? I mean of course it isn't gonna get the same range but I am considering buying one but for 120.00 I don't wanna have it shoot out and be useless
tippmann 98 custom
r/t brown to black fade paint job
drop forward
thumb screws
PMI razzor barrel
32* grips
Back to Top
Bruce A. Frank View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
KRL Reincarnated?

Joined: 27 March 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3063
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bruce A. Frank Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2005 at 3:43am

Originally posted by 98tippy98 98tippy98 wrote:

If you do "shoot out" a flatline...will it still work as like a barrel? I mean of course it isn't gonna get the same range but I am considering buying one but for 120.00 I don't wanna have it shoot out and be useless

Well, it will still shoot but just not with the flat trajectory. BUT, it will take a couple-a-hundred thousand shots to "wear it out."..unless you are picking up paint off the ground. Two barrels I bought off Ebay were "shot out." I cleaned them well with hot water and dish detergent and they both shot like new. The shell of paintballs leaves gelatin residue which will build up and reduce performance. You cannot even see it, performance just drops off...when it does just clean it!

As has been said on the forums before the barrel works with small to small-medium paint. All Star is good, but I am finding that Diablo Heat is just as good. But the barrel won't shoot accurately, or flat, with large paint (like Nelson Hot Spot)



Edited by Bruce A. Frank
Back to Top
Sopha530 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 15 June 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 24
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sopha530 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 June 2005 at 10:17am
i think it is fine, mine flatline looks smooth too, but when i touch it, it has texture, so try touching it and see.
***SoPhIe ChRiStInE***
Back to Top
Murdock View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 June 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 285
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Murdock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 June 2005 at 4:40pm

Am I wrong or are you supposed to put a drop of oil in your ASA before you use your gun? Some of that has to get in the barrel right? Or the air blows oil from the front bolt into the barrel, so isn't it almost impossable not to get oil in the barrel?

By the way, I've actualy covered a swab squeegee with goldcup lube and ran it through my flatline with the intent of oiling it up and never had a problem with it firing.



Edited by Murdock
Back to Top
Millslane View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 30 October 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 495
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Millslane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 June 2005 at 1:24am
you can take the barrel of before you dry fire, spreading the oil you know. 
www.pbteamwow.com
Back to Top
tigman250 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 April 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 923
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tigman250 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 June 2005 at 11:34pm
Originally posted by Murdock Murdock wrote:

Am I wrong or are you supposed to put a drop of oil in your ASA before you use your gun? Some of that has to get in the barrel right? Or the air blows oil from the front bolt into the barrel, so isn't it almost impossable not to get oil in the barrel?

By the way, I've actualy covered a swab squeegee with goldcup lube and ran it through my flatline with the intent of oiling it up and never had a problem with it firing.

take your barrel off before firing the oil through it. if you have oil in your barrel it's not that it won't shoot it just dosen't perform as well, unlike ALL other barrels the flatline requires friction

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.