Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Tell me what you think of this setup

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
[Mr. Smith] View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2004
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 698
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote [Mr. Smith] Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tell me what you think of this setup
    Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:08pm
Well this is the computer I plan on buying within the next month or so here.

Mother Board
Asus A8N-SLi Dx nForce

RAM
Two stick of cheap 512, not sure what kind yet.

Hard Drive
Segate 80GB 7200 RPM (might even get less space, don't think I need very much)

Disc Drive
Samsung CDRW (just real cheap dirve, $28.00)

Video Card
BFG GeForce 6800 Ultra

CPU
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2 GhZ (939 socket)

For case im getting the Asus vento 3600 Red. And for a power supply 480-500 watt, havent picked one out yet, not gonna be expensive though

Please tell me if I'm on the right track, suggegtions, criticize(sp)



Edited by [Mr. Smith]
Proud owner of an ACE'd 2K3 matrix





Back to Top
Apu View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Funny/Ironic Title

Joined: 25 January 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 6470
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Apu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:10pm
Don't go cheap on RAM. Get the good stuff.
I need a new Sig...
Back to Top
DracoPlasm View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
What is a DracoPlasm anyway?

Joined: 10 March 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2973
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DracoPlasm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:11pm
How much is that gonna cost you?

Back to Top
[Mr. Smith] View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2004
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 698
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote [Mr. Smith] Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:12pm
Oh. and im just gonna go on board sound card for a while, till i get some more money.
Proud owner of an ACE'd 2K3 matrix





Back to Top
[Mr. Smith] View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2004
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 698
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote [Mr. Smith] Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:12pm
Originally posted by DracoPlasm DracoPlasm wrote:

How much is that gonna cost you?


Before tax, about 1600.
Proud owner of an ACE'd 2K3 matrix





Back to Top
Bolt3 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
What?

Joined: 01 February 2005
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bolt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:14pm
I know almost nothing about computers, but it sounds good!
<Removed sig for violation of Clause 4 of the New Sig Rules>
Back to Top
[Mr. Smith] View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2004
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 698
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote [Mr. Smith] Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:16pm
yeah same, I've had alot of help building that, and deciding what to put onto it. Once you learn the basics, it really isnt very complicated. 
Proud owner of an ACE'd 2K3 matrix





Back to Top
BLand View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
Guested - Complete idiocy

Joined: 29 July 2003
Location: Vatican City State
Status: Offline
Points: 2360
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BLand Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:16pm
I would just forget the 64 and find just find like a faster Athlon or Pentium, like around 3.4 or 3.6
Back to Top
Hades View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 May 2003
Location: Virgin Islands
Status: Offline
Points: 12983
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hades Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:17pm
All you need is an abacus. That is want I use for my computing needs.

Back to Top
Variable View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 544
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Variable Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:19pm
Originally posted by BLand BLand wrote:

I would just forget the 64 and find just find like a faster Athlon or Pentium, like around 3.4 or 3.6


That processor will absolutely trounce a 3.6 and it will be even more grim for a 3.4ghz P4. 

Your system looks good so far, but don't skimp on the PSU the Socket 939 A64s put a lot of strain on the 12v rails.  Go with one of OCZ's new PSUs; their 12v rails supply enough amperage to keep power from fluctuating.  You'll also want a floppy for BIOS flashes and such.


Edited by Variable
Back to Top
[Mr. Smith] View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2004
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 698
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote [Mr. Smith] Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:22pm
^^yeah, im pretty set on the CPU, Thats one thing im sure will be fine for my needs. And the video card is awesome to, i aint chaning that.
Proud owner of an ACE'd 2K3 matrix





Back to Top
[Mr. Smith] View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2004
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 698
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote [Mr. Smith] Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:52pm
up
Proud owner of an ACE'd 2K3 matrix





Back to Top
Sammy View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member


Joined: 20 July 2002
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 4076
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sammy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:58pm
That 3500 wouldn't trouce a 3.6 in any non related gaming task and would give it a good run for it's money in gaming. Also, I think the 3500 might bottleneck that Ultra a bit. I think a 6800gt/Amd 3800 combo would be a much better choice. THat's what Im doing for my next computer.
Back to Top
Variable View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 544
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Variable Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 7:00pm
Originally posted by Sammy Sammy wrote:

That 3500 wouldn't trouce a 3.6 in any non related gaming task and would give it a good run for it's money in gaming. Also, I think the 3500 might bottleneck that Ultra a bit. I think a 6800gt/Amd 3800 combo would be a much better choice. THat's what Im doing for my next computer.


Actually...it would.  Business calculation benchmarks have always favored AMD, and the gap between AMD and Intel in media tasking was greatly shortened with the introduction of the A64s.  Anandtech had a nice article that showed just how badly the P4s were getting beat by the A64s...they had over 10fps difference in Doom 3.  Also, an FX-53 was overclocked into the 3ghz range and minimal gains in FPS were noticed using the same video card.  The test effectively proved that games aren't advanced enough to require a CPU that fast.  The 3500+ is plenty fast, you will never notice a bottleneck and you would need something way faster than a 3800+ to completely remove any bottleneck between the video card and processor.
Back to Top
Impulsive View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 16 March 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 86
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Impulsive Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 9:25pm
Put in a socket 478 P4.

Check out www.tigerdirect.com for good deals.
Cockers are like stick shifts, after a few transmissions you get the hang of them.
Back to Top
Glassjaw View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Took down Mike Tyson

Joined: 13 July 2004
Location: Philly
Status: Offline
Points: 6454
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Glassjaw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 9:30pm
Originally posted by Impulsive Impulsive wrote:

Put in a socket 478 P4.

Check out www.tigerdirect.com for good deals.


Intels suck.

Why are you buying SLI if you plan on buying only one VGA?

If you are spending 1600 why not just get a soundcard plus headphones anyway?  You are already spending so much, pick up an Audigy 2 zs and Medusa headphones.  www.medusa-usa.com

Buy a WD Raptor (new version) instead for an HDD.


Edited by Glassjaw
The desire for polyester is just to powerful.
Back to Top
paintballman_13 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar

Joined: 16 March 2003
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 1790
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paintballman_13 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 9:33pm
Originally posted by Glassjaw Glassjaw wrote:



Originally posted by Impulsive Impulsive wrote:

Put in a socket 478 P4.

Check out www.tigerdirect.com for good deals.



Intels suck.

Why are you buying SLI if you plan on buying only one VGA?

If you are spending 1600 why not just get a soundcard plus headphones
anyway? You are already spending so much, pick up an Audigy 2 zs
and Medusa headphones. www.medusa-usa.com

Buy a WD Raptor (new version) instead for an HDD.


Maybe he doesnt have enough for 2 video cards.
Back to Top
Glassjaw View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Took down Mike Tyson

Joined: 13 July 2004
Location: Philly
Status: Offline
Points: 6454
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Glassjaw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 9:35pm
Originally posted by paintballman_13 paintballman_13 wrote:

Originally posted by Glassjaw Glassjaw wrote:



Originally posted by Impulsive Impulsive wrote:

Put in a socket 478 P4.

Check out www.tigerdirect.com for good deals.



Intels suck.

Why are you buying SLI if you plan on buying only one VGA?

If you are spending 1600 why not just get a soundcard plus headphones
anyway? You are already spending so much, pick up an Audigy 2 zs
and Medusa headphones. www.medusa-usa.com

Buy a WD Raptor (new version) instead for an HDD.


Maybe he doesnt have enough for 2 video cards.


Really?...

Unless he plans on buying another one, the SLI serves no purpose.
The desire for polyester is just to powerful.
Back to Top
A-5 08 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

The mob rules!!! Get the pitchforks!!!

Joined: 18 October 2004
Location: Chad
Status: Offline
Points: 2130
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A-5 08 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 9:39pm
Originally posted by [Mr. Smith [Mr. Smith wrote:

]
Originally posted by DracoPlasm DracoPlasm wrote:

How much is that gonna cost you?


Before tax, about 1600.


got my laptop at bestbuy with a full 3 year warrenty for less than that with many of the same features
Back to Top
Glassjaw View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Took down Mike Tyson

Joined: 13 July 2004
Location: Philly
Status: Offline
Points: 6454
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Glassjaw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 9:43pm
Originally posted by A-5 08 A-5 08 wrote:

Originally posted by [Mr. Smith [Mr. Smith wrote:

]
Originally posted by DracoPlasm DracoPlasm wrote:

How much is that gonna cost you?


Before tax, about 1600.


got my laptop at bestbuy with a full 3 year warrenty for less than that with many of the same features


It may have the same hardware, but the specifications aren't comparable.

6800:

Memory Interface 256-bit
Memory 512 MB
Memory Bandwidth 33.6 GB/sec.
Fill Rate 6.4 billion texels/sec.
Vertices per Second 600 Million
Memory Data Rate 1050 MHz
Pixels per Clock (peak) 16
Textures per Pixel* 16
RAMDACs 400 MHz
*Maximum in a single rendering pass

eForce Go 6800
Memory Interface 256-bit
Memory Bandwidth (GBps) Up to 35.2
Fill Rate (pixels/sec.) 3.6 billion
Vertices/Second 470 million
Memory Data Rate 700 MHz DDR/DDR2
1100 MHz GDDR3
RAMDACs 400 MHz

The desire for polyester is just to powerful.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.