Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

HELP ! A-5 w/ Flatline Velocity Trouble!!

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ag07e View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 31 January 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ag07e Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: HELP ! A-5 w/ Flatline Velocity Trouble!!
    Posted: 31 January 2005 at 3:55pm

A few months ago I purchased an A-5 with flatline barrel.  I have never been able to chronograph the gun to where it needs to be (270-285 ft/sec).  With the flatline barrel on the gun chronos at a maximum of 240 ft/sec.  Therefore the balls exiting the gun swerve since the flatline is picky about velocity.  I use PMI premiums and Chronic paintballs.   I removed the flatline and expermiented with a regular ceramic barrel and was only able to achieve a maximum of 265 ft/sec.  Now that isn't right!  So I went online and purchased a Maddmann spring kit which I've tried the Red AKA heavy spring and Blue AKA medium spring and DOP rear velocity adjuster for some finer tuning.  I achieved the same velocity results as before the next weekend at the field.  I have tried everything I can think of to get the gun's velocity up to par.  The o-rings are in working order and i have tried a nitrogen bottle for more consistent gas flow.  PLEASE HELP ME! ! !  

Marker Specs

- A-5
- Flatline
- DOP RVA
- Red spring installed from the Maddmann kit



Edited by ag07e
Back to Top
Lex1785 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 31 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lex1785 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 January 2005 at 5:07pm

I'd also be interested in the fix for this. My Marker is suffering much of the same results.

 

I've got the standard package pretty much on my A-5

A-5

Flatline

RT

Blue Maddmann

Shocktech Bolt

45/3000 HPA

 

I went out yesterday for some winter play and changed out the flatline for an 18 inch Lapco barrel and actually hit FPS at 272 the highest. With the flatline on using both HPA and Co2 I hit no higher then 240. I've tried a variety of things up to including changing out bolts going back to completely stock out of the box set up and no results in FPS raising more then 240 with the Flatline installed. Any one have any idea how to remedy this situation?

KnightStalkers Scenerio Team
KnightStalkers
Back to Top
ag07e View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 31 January 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ag07e Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 January 2005 at 10:58pm
Wow! Thank God I'm not the only one having this problem.  I totally strip the gun and oil it very well after every use and treat it like it's my child.  Neglect is not an issue in my case.
Back to Top
Vierge View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vierge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 February 2005 at 10:35am

i had the same problem and a regulator fixed it i suggest palmers regulators they are great my velocity only jumps one or two digits... it stays between 279-281 so ya i would suggest you get a regulator and you set the psi high

Back to Top
Lex1785 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 31 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lex1785 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 February 2005 at 11:24am
Any one else have any suggestions, it seems that quiet a few have this issue and I'm hoping some one has a simpler fix or knows exactly what to do to fix the issue with out having to purchase any extra parts, The marker worked fine when first purchased and it seems no one lately has added anything or changed anything to caue the issue to happen. I've even went back to the out of the box set up and still have the issue.

Edited by Lex1785
KnightStalkers Scenerio Team
KnightStalkers
Back to Top
ag07e View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 31 January 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ag07e Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 February 2005 at 4:05pm

Heck....My gun was acting up as described in the first post as soon as it was taken out of the box!  Kinda discouraged me since this is my first Tippmann marker.

 

Back to Top
evil_fingers View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 1 - Inappropriate sig

Joined: 27 March 2004
Location: Frisco Nor Cal
Status: Offline
Points: 7224
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote evil_fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 February 2005 at 10:05pm
When in doubt...contact the Tippmann tech.
Do not steal....the government hates competition!
Back to Top
gonzouk View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 September 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gonzouk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 February 2005 at 6:51am

i would apperciate any news on this i have just brought the flatline and havnt tested it yet i have read all the pros and cons for the flatline and thought it would be worth the setup probs for the range etc but if it really screw's the velocity up  i will not be happy

any news appreciated

 

no pain no gain
Back to Top
evil_fingers View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar
Strike 1 - Inappropriate sig

Joined: 27 March 2004
Location: Frisco Nor Cal
Status: Offline
Points: 7224
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote evil_fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 February 2005 at 3:08pm
The Flatline has nothing to do wit the velocity problem wit the A5, if it was, the same problem would appear on the 98c and I havent seen any velocity problems wit my 98c and it has the Flatline as well....the velocity problem is more of a seperate issue and it could be a number of things.....
Do not steal....the government hates competition!
Back to Top
Vierge View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vierge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2005 at 10:06am
well ya you can call tippmann tech i would want to know what they willlsay to that problem...i never called them i just bought a reg and it fixed it so i dropped it......but it would really be interesteing to know whats the real problem....
Back to Top
Ihaveanitch View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
Guested, language. 5/17

Joined: 12 November 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 719
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ihaveanitch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2005 at 1:55pm
im guessing its something to do with the air flow, maybe the gun isn't getting enough air. I'd contact tipp n see what they'd have to say, if ur gun's under warrenty they'd fix it np.
Back to Top
ag07e View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 31 January 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ag07e Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 February 2005 at 3:24pm

Well guys, My problem has been solved!  I called Tippmann as a last resort when it should have been my first.  I explained my problem and the tech sent me a new powertube valve assembly.  My A-5 works like it should have the day I recieved it.  Unfortunately, a faulty valve must have been installed in the factory.   I have to tune the RVA down very low so that I meet velocity requirements.

Back to Top
Lex1785 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 31 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lex1785 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 February 2005 at 5:08pm
Originally posted by ag07e ag07e wrote:

Well guys, My problem has been solved!  I called Tippmann as a last resort when it should have been my first.  I explained my problem and the tech sent me a new powertube valve assembly.  My A-5 works like it should have the day I recieved it.  Unfortunately, a faulty valve must have been installed in the factory.   I have to tune the RVA down very low so that I meet velocity requirements.

Yes, I've found this out myself, I purchased a new valve system parts and rebuilt mine. If your having velocity issues give Tippmann a call and ask if they can ship you a new valve and powertube ninty nine percent of the issue will be related to this.

 

KnightStalkers Scenerio Team
KnightStalkers
Back to Top
Stormcharger View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 September 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 394
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stormcharger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 February 2005 at 11:58am

Can someone tell me why the people who built it are called last?

Back to Top
karnivor View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar
Strike 1 filterdodge

Joined: 18 November 2004
Location: Antarctica
Status: Offline
Points: 409
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote karnivor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 February 2005 at 10:23pm

IMPORTANT:  I had the same problem but then i repaced the bolt and power tube with the proseal front bolt and powertube and now i can get anywhere i want from 250 fps to 314fps

the part is only 35-40 dollars try it

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.