Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

cyclone not working plzzzzz help

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
A5 dude15 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested Pottymouth

Joined: 21 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A5 dude15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: cyclone not working plzzzzz help
    Posted: 28 December 2004 at 10:41pm
ok well when i was playin yesterday, everything was all good until i just all of a sudden started shooting blanks no matter how much i shot with a half full hopper.  i took off the hopper and i would shoot the gun while looking at the cyclone feed system and could obviously tell that it wasnt spinning when i shot, aaaand, whenever this problem occured, one ball was always in the cyclone, it was one cycle past where the balls are fed into the chamber. this seemed to be happening at high rates of fire.(I have the egrip).  i would take off the hopper and manually spin the cyclone by pushing the thing on the side until that one ball was fed, then stick the hopper back on and it would shoot fine until about 30-40 shots and it woul do the exact same thing again.  i know that the cyclone feed system is powered by the gas yur using, and im using C02.  could ice or liquid C02 have gotten inside the gun and messed it up? could the gasline leading to the cyclone have been clogged up by ice or sumthing like that?  plz help, the gun is useless with this problem.  and it sucks when you have a perfect shot on someone and u start to shoot and nothing comes out; and the guy would obviously no where you are now and fire at you while you have no defense.  this really sucks, plz help
Back to Top
dirtycanadian89 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 December 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 153
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dirtycanadian89 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 December 2004 at 10:46pm
maybe the co2, could be low air it does that to me too on low air i hate it, but it could be cold affects ur air just make sure u use ur nitro tank and keep it over 800 psi on the reg on tank so it doesnt do that
A-5
Pure energy 88/4500 nitro
Smart parts all american 16 inch
Dead ON RVA
Dbl trig
MALE PALMER STABILIZER
Bob long mini gauge
pure energy and dye stickers
3x scope for woods
Back to Top
A5 dude15 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested Pottymouth

Joined: 21 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A5 dude15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 December 2004 at 10:55pm
^ i had over 300 shots left, and half of them were wasted on firing blanks cus i was pissed off. i got my nitro tank today, along with a flatline, i have to fill it up and then ill see how it goes.  but what if that dont solve the problem? then what could it be?  ^ oh yeah, it was also 60 degrees out.
Back to Top
LordJovian View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1882
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LordJovian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2004 at 8:26am

Your CO2 wasn't expanding when you were shooting fast. You gun will be fine, just make sure to clean it so rust doesn't mix with the oil and rust the drive spring.

You may have also begun to wear down the ratchet. Open up your Cyclone and take a look.

A-5
E-grip
Chipley Custom Carbon Graphite 16"
Evil Adapter(Spyder)
32 Deg New '03 XChamber
Remote Line
Gun Sling
Sniper f/x Stock
LPK
68/4500 HPA
R-5
CP Reg
JCS Duel Trigger
Back to Top
Smokey_The_Bear View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 22 December 2003
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 89
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Smokey_The_Bear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2004 at 12:42pm
anyway to avoid this wearing of the ratchet? Oil it? And how?
Back to Top
LordJovian View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1882
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LordJovian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2004 at 1:45pm

Yes, oil it. Be careful though- in cold weather the oil thickens and can cause feeding problems/ excessive wear. Lithium grease also works well.

To oil the ratchet, you have to remove the bottom plate of the cyclone. Take the four bottom screws out. Use a small screwdriver to lift the plate up a hair or two, and HOLD the plunger tube (where the manual pump rod is) while lifting the plate off. If you don't hold the tube, it'll make the plastic spacer come loose and potentially shoot a metal rod across the room. After the plate is off, you oil where the big clear thing (ratchet) meets the spindle (plastic gear shaped thing). You may also want to oil the bottom plate where the little nub is. Also, put a drop of oil into the plunger tube. You can "shortcut oil" the cyclone plunger by putting oil in the ASA (remove the barrel or you'll have to clean it real good) and firing the gun 20 or so times (with air connected, of course).

A-5
E-grip
Chipley Custom Carbon Graphite 16"
Evil Adapter(Spyder)
32 Deg New '03 XChamber
Remote Line
Gun Sling
Sniper f/x Stock
LPK
68/4500 HPA
R-5
CP Reg
JCS Duel Trigger
Back to Top
A5 dude15 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested Pottymouth

Joined: 21 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A5 dude15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2004 at 6:09pm

^ ok ill try

thanks

Back to Top
A5 dude15 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested Pottymouth

Joined: 21 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A5 dude15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2004 at 7:37pm

^ i did everything there.  it still doesnt work. but, i did notice something that i wasnt sure should have been that way.  i noticed, looking at it from the top where u could see the balls, that there were two small holes where two of the screws that enter the bottom plate from the bottom were, and when i shot with no hopper on while looking at the cyclone, it wasnt spinning and gas was coming out of the holes from the bottom enclosed part of the system.  i dont think these holes should be there but, i may be wrong.

will i end up having to buy a new cyclone feed system????????????

Back to Top
A5 dude15 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested Pottymouth

Joined: 21 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A5 dude15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2004 at 12:01am
^ does anyone know if those holes are supposed to be there?
Back to Top
Hella Cool View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Screw you guys, I’m going home

Joined: 17 November 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1157
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hella Cool Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2004 at 4:15am
Originally posted by LordJovian LordJovian wrote:

Yes, oil it. Be careful though- in cold weather the oil thickens and can cause feeding problems/ excessive wear. Lithium grease also works well.



I read on the A-5 Owners Group Forum that you shouldn't oil the ratchet because it blows up the world or something.
Back to Top
LordJovian View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1882
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LordJovian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2004 at 1:39pm

Oops- you screwed them on too tight and poked holes. This shouldn't be too much of an issue, since the air pushes the plunger before entering the cyclone housing. I'd check the banjo fittings (two screws) that have the macroline running out of the side of the gun to the cyclone. I'd say completely disassemble it, inspect every part (including the ratchet- look REAL close). Clean each part with Isopropyl alcohol, including the macroline and plunger tube. Those holes *might* cause some pressure problems, and if the full-cleaning and inspection service doesn't do the trick, try ordering a Cyclone housing either from Tippmann or http://www.chasepb.com/store/category.aspx?SID=1&Categor y_ID=20&Page=4

Good luck.

*edit*
It's a Feeder Housing for $18.99, page 6.



Edited by LordJovian
A-5
E-grip
Chipley Custom Carbon Graphite 16"
Evil Adapter(Spyder)
32 Deg New '03 XChamber
Remote Line
Gun Sling
Sniper f/x Stock
LPK
68/4500 HPA
R-5
CP Reg
JCS Duel Trigger
Back to Top
A5 dude15 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
Guested Pottymouth

Joined: 21 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A5 dude15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2005 at 4:22pm
i got the ratchet replaced and its still broken
Back to Top
LordJovian View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1882
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LordJovian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 January 2005 at 9:56am

hmmm... this might need serious work. Did you do everything I mentioned above? Make sure no parts are damaged. Now, take off the two banjo fittings that supply the air. Those are the blck screws on the side of the gun and on the cyclone piston tube. Take these off, and remove the macroline from them (carefully- it may take some force so don't use pliers). Make sure there's no blockage in the fittings or line. Clean. Then, take out the powertube with the CVX valve. Use the small allen wrench to push the CVX out of the power tube. Then, disassemble the CVX (http://www.model98.net) per instructions on site. Clean and inspect everything. If this doesn't work, or if nothing appears damaged, you'll need to do a "Tippmann repair"- start replacing things. Make sure you're not over tightening the bottom plate of the cyclone- it doesn't need to be tight (screw it in until the screw is flush and holding the plate- don't torque it).

Good luck.

A-5
E-grip
Chipley Custom Carbon Graphite 16"
Evil Adapter(Spyder)
32 Deg New '03 XChamber
Remote Line
Gun Sling
Sniper f/x Stock
LPK
68/4500 HPA
R-5
CP Reg
JCS Duel Trigger
Back to Top
Ryan5490 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ryan5490 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 January 2005 at 8:12pm
the same happened to me, i have a car stock on mine and my cyclone feed still fed, but lately, it hasnt worked. I messed with it and found out with my stock off, it works perfectly fine, thats probly it if u got a stock, and if n e 1 knows whats up with my gun, email me at william.anderson17@att.net
Back to Top
SoCalJG2003 View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 November 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SoCalJG2003 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 January 2005 at 4:00pm

I have the exact same problem on two guns. One has a RT and one has the Egrip. I have dissasembled one and I have found that the travel of the plunger is stiff and that I do not get full rotation of feed system Full rotation is indicative of an audible click when feed sprockets rotate. I have cleaned enire assembly, replaced O-Rings, checked all banjo fittings and micro lines, and with a full charged CO2 i can get around 2-3 consecutive shots off then the cyclone feed stops working.

I plan to call Tippmann Tech Line tomorrow!

Back to Top
LordJovian View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1882
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LordJovian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 January 2005 at 8:46am
You may want to replace the plunger. If it is stiff, the rubber tip may be hardened for some reason. Make sure the spring hasn't been damaged also. Ryan, sounds like you're not releasing enough air. Your stock may be decreasing tension, making you shoot less air. You might want to try stuffing crap into the stock where the drive spring pin goes to increase tension. Also, make sure there's no pressure drops from any regs you have on it. And check the tension in any RVA's- I don't know if your CAR stock has an RVA or not.
A-5
E-grip
Chipley Custom Carbon Graphite 16"
Evil Adapter(Spyder)
32 Deg New '03 XChamber
Remote Line
Gun Sling
Sniper f/x Stock
LPK
68/4500 HPA
R-5
CP Reg
JCS Duel Trigger
Back to Top
Dawrr View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 02 November 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dawrr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 January 2005 at 7:33am
Push the manual advance if it gets jammed!!!!!!! 
Smart Parts Shocker SFT Vision
PE 48/3k
All-Am. 14" Barrel
Q-loader kit
Eggy2 Z-boarded
NDZ V3 He Bolt
34 bps

A-5, E-gripped
WAS board to come
16" Werks
JC F/X Stock
Q-loader
30 bps
Back to Top
WILLYCP View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 12 January 2005
Location: Mexico
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WILLYCP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 January 2005 at 3:22am
I had the same problem 3 days ago, i,ve had my gun 1 year now and all of a sudden it stopped fireing, i checked the cyclone feed because it was not turning and unscrewed the lower lid (the one that has 4 little screws) and cleaned everything but i observed that if you put the lid to tight the cyclone wont turn all the way and get stuck half way. So check the bottom lid and dont put it so tight. And yeah i also have those holes.
Back to Top
StandingCow View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote StandingCow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 February 2005 at 5:48pm

I was going to make a new post but this entire thread explains my problem.  My cyclone feed system was working fine last game, I field stripped and cleaned out out after that game (ball broke in the feed system).  I fired it after cleaning and it worked fine.

Well, I went to play today and one ball fired, then nothing, shook my marker (shouldnt have to do that) and it fired one more then nothing.  Took my hopper off and noticed that the cyclone feed either doesnt spin, or does very slowly.  I figured maybe the hose was clogged, so I unscrewed it fired, and could feel air comming through. 

Tried oiling the ratchet.. it also does the same thing with the bottom cover off.

Also the manual feed rod doesnt allow the cylcone to fall back on its next click, you have to either push it (very slightly) or even jarring the gun will be enough force to make it click in, but its not working like it should.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

Back to Top
StandingCow View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote StandingCow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 March 2005 at 5:00pm

Well, not that anyone replied... but I fixed the problem... not sure HOW... it could have been the oiling yesterday... but after totally taking the gun apart then putting it back together the cyclone feed works again...

Im not complaining but I wish I knew WHY it wasnt working so it doesnt happen again before a game

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.