Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

cyclone not working plzzzzz help

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
LordJovian View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1882
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LordJovian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2005 at 8:44am
 Just a bit of maintenance fixes most problems.
A-5
E-grip
Chipley Custom Carbon Graphite 16"
Evil Adapter(Spyder)
32 Deg New '03 XChamber
Remote Line
Gun Sling
Sniper f/x Stock
LPK
68/4500 HPA
R-5
CP Reg
JCS Duel Trigger
Back to Top
aimpulsive View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 02 March 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aimpulsive Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2005 at 8:33pm
I too have an A5 that has a hopper that just stopped working.

Checked the air line: Air is entering the plunger fine.
Checked the ratchet: Fine.

The only change is that I added a CAR stock. I'll try to remove it to see if that makes a difference, but why would adding a stock matter? Is air escaping out the rear of the breach since the car stock is not air tight like the original A5 back (it has no oring to seal it).

Other ideas?
Back to Top
Jochen View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 April 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 416
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jochen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2005 at 3:21pm
Originally posted by aimpulsive aimpulsive wrote:

I too have an A5 that has a hopper that just stopped working.

Checked the air line: Air is entering the plunger fine.
Checked the ratchet: Fine.

The only change is that I added a CAR stock. I'll try to remove it to
see if that makes a difference, but why would adding a stock matter? Is
air escaping out the rear of the breach since the car stock is not air
tight like the original A5 back (it has no oring to seal it).

Other ideas?



Does the Car stock have the velocity adjuster on it? The one that I got did have a velocity adjustment on it, but I don't see how that would affect the cyclone feeder... I would be more inclined to suggest that the rachet is worn down enough that it does not push the cyclone (the clicking noise) enough to cycle it... Even the smallest piece of the one corner is enough to make the cyclone inop. I've actually gone through two rachets since I've had my A5, so the part does wear out over time and use. IE, the more you play and shoot the faster the rachet will wear down.

Jochen
Team Identity Crisis



Back to Top
mikehart92 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 06 March 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mikehart92 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 March 2005 at 7:43pm

I have the same problem.  Took it apart and found that the end of the piston that works the ratchet is worn out.  Where can I order one of those?

 

Mike

Back to Top
brutl_force View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
One Truck’n Machine!

Joined: 18 August 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1887
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brutl_force Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 March 2005 at 5:08pm
the cup seal and spring can wear and cause gas blow by (like work piston rings in an engine) You will have less pressure to push the piston, and a worn spring will not have enough power to rotate the cyclone. (the spring actually turns the cyclone and feeds the ball) combined with a worn ratchet, the cyclone will not function properly. I would say that a worn cup seal, ratchet, and spring are the majority of all your problems.
Inclementia Vigor (Translated from latin to brutal force). And yes, I spell "brutl" wrong on purpose.
Back to Top
e-gripA-5er View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote e-gripA-5er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 March 2005 at 10:12pm

Holy ****, this is scary!!! not really, but anyways i was playing sat. at the opening day of my "home field", big turn out- about 120 people for 2 games.  But even though i got bout 4 games in, my marker has all of the symptoms above.  I was playing speedball when all of a sudden i start shooting blanks, i was so mad cuz i snuck around the snake and was like 15 ft behind a kid looking the other way when this happens.  So i got eliminated and at the beginnning of the next round i just stood behind a back bunker and treated my marker like a pump.  Then after a while i got the triple shot, but it was highly exaggerated and then finally totally out of co2.

The conditions - 267 FPS, about 60-70 degrees out, I have no stock, and e-grip, J&J Ceramic 12 inch

Back to Top
LordJovian View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 June 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1882
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LordJovian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2005 at 8:22am
Check your ratchets folks. The plungers wear out too. Instead of reposting, read the posts you all skipped over. You can order new parts from Tippmann or http://www.chasepb.com . Some proshops sell repair kits- these come with a new ratchet, plunger, axle, and bottom plate.
A-5
E-grip
Chipley Custom Carbon Graphite 16"
Evil Adapter(Spyder)
32 Deg New '03 XChamber
Remote Line
Gun Sling
Sniper f/x Stock
LPK
68/4500 HPA
R-5
CP Reg
JCS Duel Trigger
Back to Top
Clark Kent View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 02 July 2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 8716
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Clark Kent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2005 at 11:33am
On the CAR stock - even stocks without velocity adjusters can mess with your gun, if they replace the endcap.  The stock may not be putting enough pressure on the drive spring, so the valve doesn't open enough to properly drive the Cyclone, while still letting the gun shoot (barely).  Take the stock off and see if that helps.
Back to Top
e-gripA-5er View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 February 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote e-gripA-5er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2005 at 6:01pm

I dont think I would need new parts now... I mean that was the second time I used the marker.  I got it for x-mas and played at a nearby forest with a friend.  Then went there for opening day, and then that happened.

Back to Top
brutl_force View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member
Avatar
One Truck’n Machine!

Joined: 18 August 2002
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1887
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brutl_force Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2005 at 8:03pm
with a low tank or gas restriction (frozen gun, happens easy on full auto) the cyclone will not function long before you run out of gas enough for the gun to 'burp'. that is common.
Inclementia Vigor (Translated from latin to brutal force). And yes, I spell "brutl" wrong on purpose.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.03

This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.